10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm not a big drinker but we did make a virgin variation for my daughter (the picky one) & she was in heaven. One of these days when the mood hits, maybe I'll join her. ;) A great submission; god luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 19, 2007

What can I say? I am becoming a martini convert. Never drank them til a couple of weeks ago and with recipes like this one, I am now enjoying the set of martini glasses I own. Though it took more effort than I usually put into making a drink, it was well worth it. The end result was a creamy, orange flavored concoction that just made my Friday night. The poster gave perfect proportions so that I ended up with just the right amount to fill my glass. Almost as much as the drink, I loved the apricots after they had been strained, sort of Grand Marnier infused apricot tidbits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 March 19, 2007

This was good but not worth all of the work and ingredients to make it. At 8 minutes the syrup was too thick to pour. I ended up having to mix the Rum in the pot to make it thinner so I could pour it through the strainer. I used Cointreau. In the end I couldn't taste much but Rum and coconut milk. It did have a thick creamy consistency. I do feel it was one of the most creative uses of contest ingredients...Great job with that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed March 18, 2007

The apricots came through nicely. This was creamy with just the perfect amount of sweetness and the liquors weren`t overpowering. I made the syrup in the microwave oven. Garnished with an orange slice. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 18, 2007

I love the idea of this martini- I really wanted it to work because it is such a creative idea. I reduced the cooking time significantly and had trouble squeezing any liquid from the apricots so we really didn't taste them. The predominant flavor for me was the coconut milk and the orange juice made it a little tart. I enjoyed the smooth creaminess of the drink. Good Luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog March 18, 2007

I put a bit more brown sugar in the apricot syrup. This was so delicious it was like a dessert. I couldn't believe someone could come up with such a yummy recipe using the ingredients available. WOW! My neighbor and I made them by the recipe and then proceeded to make our own changes...of course we are both ex-bartenders! Congratulations, You came up with a winner considering the near impossible ingredients you were given to choose from! We loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc March 18, 2007

My tasters and I were split on this one...those who loved it, REALLY loved it, like five stars loved it. AndI the rest of us were lukewarm...so I rated it in between. Thanks, tho...we had a great party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonshadow22 March 18, 2007

This is a very attractive drink. I would make this again. The flavors blended well as it had just the right sweetness to it. The first sip, I knew I was hooked. I only used one type of rum and it was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy Mae March 17, 2007

Wow! What a fantastic idea! I wanted to make a beverage for this contest but just could not get it to come out well. This has amazing flavor and is really simple to prep. I did make the apricot syrup ahead and stored in the fridge til rady- that allowed me to whip this up fast when I was ready. These flavors meld together so nicely and create a tasty drink! Good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) March 17, 2007

Well not being a rum drinker, this recipe caught me by surprise. I thought it was so smooth and creamy. I couldn't tell there was any rum in it. It was just sweet enough and tasted like a daqueir without being frozen. Even thou the apricot pieces are remove, I set them aside and enjoyed them after I finished the cocktail. Kind of like an olive after the martini. ! I thought it was well balanced and deserves 5 stars or more... Cheers ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) March 17, 2007
Orange Tiger Martini