9 Reviews

I used some basil butter I had made with basil from the garden, and frozen. This dish turned out very nice - simple but elegant, and quick to make! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F January 09, 2012

So easy and my husband went on and on and on about how great it was. I left off the cheese even and it was just fantastic

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maureen92109 January 28, 2009

I made this recipe to the letter and liked it a lot. I don't like to try and 'healthy up' other people's recipes so unless I really hate a particular ingredient I'll follow it to the letter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette L. November 21, 2013

OK, I substituted so many things in this recipe it probably qualifies as a new recipe, but I started here so here it is. First, I used Tilapia instead of Orange Roughy because that is what I had. I wanted to cut the fat and calories as much as possible and changing the butter for olive oil as baezus suggested was not enough for me, so instead I used butter flavored Pam spray. I sprayed the baking dish, placed the Tilapia side by side and then sprayed the Tilapia. Sprinkled the basil on top and put in broiler. After turning I sprayed and sprinkled again. I am not fond of lemon on my food, so I did something else baezus suggested was to use white wine instead. Good tip! Lastly was the cheese. I found a bag of Kraft Natural Shredded Fat Free Mozzarella and had to give it a try. Glad I did. It worked great. After substituting so many things, I think I accomplished what I was after, a very low fat meal. I may have even cut the calories too, although they were low to begin with. I like a bit more seasoning on my food so I sprinkled some Everglades Seasoning on after the fact and it gave it the finishing touch. I served it with a mix of vegetables. Even though I changed it a bit, this was a good recipe that provided me with a base to start by and adapted well with my needs. It was quick and not very difficult for a beginner cook such as me. It deserves 5 stars in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
El Mago November 11, 2008

I have made this for my family several times using tilapia. To eliminate the butter/margarine, I use some olive oil and a little lemon pepper salt. You can cut even more fat by eliminating the cheese and it still tastes great. I also like a little white wine added or instead of the lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baezus September 06, 2007

Wonderful, easy and quick! I used Orange Roughy. Broiling times were prefect. Meal included broccoli steamed with red pepper flakes, Greek salad and Galic and Herb Rice Pilaf. Will surely save this recipe for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brettonhall February 27, 2005

Great recipe! I followed the instructions closey and it turned out to be delicious. Served on a bed of broccoli cheddar rice made for a great meal. I'm not a big fish eater either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bfinny2000 January 19, 2005

This was a good recipe. I followed the instructions to the letter using tilapia. I found that it was done cooking before turning it after the first five minutes, but decided to cook the other side to get the parmesan golden. It was easy to spread the basil butter over rinsed and patted dry fish using a butter knife. It was moist and tender, and actually tasted a little sweet. My kids loved it. It was served with a spinach salad, herbed rice, and broccoli salad. A lovely and satisfying meal. I will add this to my fish recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H January 06, 2005

This was a great recipe.I used the tilapia. It was quick,easy and had great flavor. It is a recipe I will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Original Guppy December 23, 2004
Orange Roughy Fillets With Lemon Basil Butter