38 Reviews

This recipe was a surprise hit! I used 2 orange roughy fillets (first time cooking them), dijon mustard, panko bread crumbs and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I was afraid that the mustard would be too strong, but nope! WOW! Delicious! I'm going to try it with tilapia now. Thank you and YUM!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 May 18, 2009

I'm generally terrible at making fish, but I need to add fish to my diet and this turned out great! I actually made a mistake and added the cayenne to the honey mustard/egg mixture instead of the seasoned bread crumbs. After reading the reviews I couldn't resist adding chopped pecans to the bread crumbs, so I used about half and half bread crumbs and finely chopped pecans. I did "steep" the fish in the crumb mixture in the fridge for at least 1/2 hour as the recipe suggested, to keep the crust on (also "corrected my boo-boo with the cayenne). I wish I would have found this recipe earlier in my cooking life. Sooo good! I would think this would work with other fish varieties as well. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug July 27, 2010

Delicious! With extra honey/mustard/cayenne on the side it was extra flavorful. Didn't have honey mustard but followed another review and mixed spicy brown mustard with honey.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siren Chef December 17, 2009

This is a great recipe that I have passed on to several friends. MY husband and kids enjoy it every time I make it. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyhetrick December 08, 2009

easy and delicious- my kind of dinner!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyjoy September 09, 2009

This was absolutely amazing! The fish turned out perfectly moist and flaky. My almost 7 year old ate it all up without me having to repeatedly tell him to eat his dinner. My husband, loved it and thought it was restaurant quality. I used honey dijon mustard and Parmesan season bread crumbs and left out the pepper for personal taste. The bread crumbs made the dish a little too salty, but this recipe is still fantastic, and so easy and quick to make! I paired it with brown rice and a salad. Definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha August 28, 2009

I'm going to rate w/o stars b/c I made a significant change. I made the recipe exactly as stated except that I baked the fish in the oven at 400*F for about 12 minutes. I thought the flavor was excellent, but the coating would have been crispier and hence better if I had been able to pan fry it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy September 17, 2008

Easy and delicious. I used Zatarain's Fish Fry, which is spiced with cayenne pepper already. I cooked the fish in about a half inch of refined coconut oil (no coconut smell or flavor). Crispy, delicate and delicious. We will do this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannejm June 17, 2014

l changed a few things and made fish tacos! Delicious! Made homemade honey mustard with equal parts honey, whole grain mustard and mayo. Cut the fish into big chunks dipped in egg mix, then into the breadcrumbs (used Panko or Japanese crumbs) mixed with some cornmeal. Added some cumin to the breadcrumb mix. Then made soft tacos topped with finely shredded Napa cabbage tossed with cilantro, salt and lime juice. Added cheese, onion, sour cream, salsa and hot sauce and really enjoyed. Never made or ate fish tacos before, but certainly will again. Thanks for the inspiration. Had the fish. Had the cabbage. And just saw on a Mexican restaurant menu the day before a fish taco topped with shredded cabbage and thought, hmm.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelley March 20, 2012

This was very good. I opted to use plain dijon mustard instead of honey mustard and I couldn't be happier with the results. The rest of the instructions I followed as written. Even my husband, who isn't overly fond of fish, gobbled this up. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann May 12, 2009
Orange Roughy