Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Rosemary Roasted Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Rosemary Roasted Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      This recipe is worthy of far more than 5 stars. I followed the ingredients with only one minor variation: I had an extremely large orange, which I cut into sixths and stuffed inside the bird as well as laid around it in the roasting pan. I adjusted the roasting method a bit. I had a 4 lb. bird, so I roasted it for 2 hours total--1 1/2 hours covered and the last 30 minutes uncovered after brushing on the glaze. The chicken turned out ultra juicy with crispy, browned skin. It smelled heavenly fragrant while roasting, and the flavor was excellent. The skin was crispy and caramelized from the glaze. It was sheer eating pleasure (so much for cholesterol for one day!). I carved the bird and drizzled some of the thickened, caramelized sauce from the bottom of the pan over the carved meat. Our family enjoyed this recipe a great deal. DH turned to his animal instincts and licked his fingers after disassembling his drumstick in record time, and 15-month-old DD asked for seconds (unusual for her!). Thanks for a keeper! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #39)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I can't even grow a cactus, but I CAN cook a masterpiece....see! Made for #39 A-NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      WOW, delicious. Roast chicken at its best I had the recipe printed for a very long time but always seemed to be missing some ingredient. I made up this chicken to serve to guests. A hit it was,everyone saying they had never had chicken so moist or with such great flavor. Grandaughter couldn't wait to have chicken in a fresh bun a short time later. Certainly a recipe to be served to guests. Another of Gerry's wonderful recipes that will be enjoyed at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Great chook recipe, had my kids coming back for more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was a delicious roasted chicken! It definitely was one of the best roasted chickens I have ever had. I used my homemade orange marmalade for the recipe. The orange flavor came through well in the chicken without being overwhelming. The skin was a delicious treat with that glaze on there. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was excellent!! This goes straight into my top ways for roasting chicken. The flavour was fantastic and it was fall apart tender and very moist. We loved the marmalade glaze which really does finish this off superbly. I served ours with roast potatoes, corn on the cob, mixed veg and yorkshire puddings for a really fab meal. Cheers Gerry for a super recipe and one that will be enjoyed again often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I've never roasted a whole chicken before. I'm not a huge fan of lemon chicken, but the orange in this sounded excellent. I used fresh rosemary, and served it with mashed sweet potatoes. It was probably the best roasted chicken I've ever had, and DH LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This may be the best roasted chicken I ever have made -- certainly one of the top two! Utterly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Featured in my Book#237470. Originally reviewed on Apr. 22, 2008. Perfect taste, timing, and easy. And the smell while roasting is wonderful! After reading the other reviews, I did pack it into a tight pan and doubled the orange juice on the bottom. I also put an extra orange into the cavity. The glaze is wonderful and would be great on skinless chicken and pork. I sort of wonder if you could put this inside an oven cooking bag and then cut off the top and apply the glaze? Thanks for sharing, Gerry. Made for Pac Spring '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I cooked this up for my DH today and he really enjoyed it! The glaze is a nice touch! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Although I'm partial to chicken breasts, I followed the list of ingredients right down the line & prepared as directed, for a wonderful tasting chicken dish! Definitely enjoyed the combo of flavors from the garlic, orange & rosemary ~ VERY, VERY NICE! [Made & reviewed while on tour in Canada with the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      Yum Yum - this is definitely a keeper. Searching for a roast chicken recipe yesterday I came across this Orange Rosemary chicken and very glad I found it. I used fresh rosemary and extra garlic but otherwise followed the recipe. I was a bit wary that the marmalade would make it too sweet but the flavours were outstanding. Can't wait to try this one out on friends. Thanks again Gerry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Holy smokes, this was INCREDIBLE!!!!! I served this up as Thanksgiving dinner last night for my in-laws and it was awesome!! And so easy. My only advice would be to pack the chicken in as small a roaster as possible so you have as thick a layer of orange juice as possible. I did two chickens in my huge roasting pan and the orange juice was completely burned to the bottom after only half an hour. So I transferred the birds to a smaller roaster, put in a second cup of o.j. and then roasted them covered for 45 minutes before finishing them off uncovered for the last half hour. I basted a few times too. We will DEFINITELY be having this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      This was quite delish! I used Boneless skinless breast for my DH and thighs for myself . I would skip the oil next time as the chicken gave off plenty of juice/fat . I used more rosemary and tucked some along with garlic cloves and orange bits under the skin of the thighs, The roasted garlic cloves with the orange and the chicken skin was great. I wanted more orange flavor so will probably marinated it a bit the next time, but still wonderful flavors. Made for Best on 2010 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      WONDERFUL!!! I have to start off by telling you that I didn't make your recipe the traditional way as I no longer buy whole chickens because my family fights over the breast and leaves the rest. I used boneless, skinless, split breasts instead. I melted the butter with the garlic in my sauce pan, then I dredged each breast through the garlic butter and placed them in the baking pan. I then sprinkled the chicken with the salt, pepper and 3/4 tsp. of dried rosemary. In order to keep the breast pieces moist, I added 1/4 cup extra orange juice. For the glaze, I used 4 Tbs. marmalade and just a pinch extra rosemary so there would be enough glaze to top each breast (6 total). I heated the the marmalade and rosemary over low heat in order to make it easier to spread. The chicken came out tender and so full of flavor...a recipe I will be proud to serve to company. Made and Reviewed for the Best of 2009 Tag Game~ And I will be adding it to a best of 2010 Book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      This was delicious. I chose this because most roasted chicken recipes call for lemon and I was out of lemons and lemon juice. Oranges, I had plenty of! It smelled great while baking (garlic) and tasted moist and fragrant. I roasted my chicken with the breast meat down to help keep them moist. It worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      We LOVED this chicken. The directions are perfect and the outcome couldn't be more perfect. The chicken develops a nice, crispy crust while remaining moist and tender on the inside. The flavor is absolutely wonderful. All this and it was simple too! Wow. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Super easy recipe. Chicken came out very moist. We did not get much orange flavor... I copied the recipe to a T too. Oh well, thanks for the easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Will make this again. I did not have Orange Marmalade so I sliced an orange and laid it on top the chicken with the dried rosemary and also put a quartered orange inside the chicken with the garlic. Now that I made it like this and we like it, I am thinking the orange marmalade would be to sweet for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      great and easy! i did this with chicken breasts, bone in and skin. added a bit of lemon and an onion as well as paprika, chili flakes and extra garlic! delicious!!! i'm serving it for dinner tonight... hope my husband likes it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Rosemary Roasted Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 576.0
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    59%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 168.0 mg
    56%
    Sodium 474.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.9 g
    63%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites