21 Reviews

This recipe is worthy of far more than 5 stars. I followed the ingredients with only one minor variation: I had an extremely large orange, which I cut into sixths and stuffed inside the bird as well as laid around it in the roasting pan. I adjusted the roasting method a bit. I had a 4 lb. bird, so I roasted it for 2 hours total--1 1/2 hours covered and the last 30 minutes uncovered after brushing on the glaze. The chicken turned out ultra juicy with crispy, browned skin. It smelled heavenly fragrant while roasting, and the flavor was excellent. The skin was crispy and caramelized from the glaze. It was sheer eating pleasure (so much for cholesterol for one day!). I carved the bird and drizzled some of the thickened, caramelized sauce from the bottom of the pan over the carved meat. Our family enjoyed this recipe a great deal. DH turned to his animal instincts and licked his fingers after disassembling his drumstick in record time, and 15-month-old DD asked for seconds (unusual for her!). Thanks for a keeper! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #39)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe April 12, 2010

I can't even grow a cactus, but I CAN cook a masterpiece....see! Made for #39 A-NZ Recipe Swap.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 04, 2010

WOW, delicious. Roast chicken at its best I had the recipe printed for a very long time but always seemed to be missing some ingredient. I made up this chicken to serve to guests. A hit it was,everyone saying they had never had chicken so moist or with such great flavor. Grandaughter couldn't wait to have chicken in a fresh bun a short time later. Certainly a recipe to be served to guests. Another of Gerry's wonderful recipes that will be enjoyed at our house.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 January 30, 2010

Great chook recipe, had my kids coming back for more!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum June 15, 2009

This was a delicious roasted chicken! It definitely was one of the best roasted chickens I have ever had. I used my homemade orange marmalade for the recipe. The orange flavor came through well in the chicken without being overwhelming. The skin was a delicious treat with that glaze on there. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnpj May 20, 2009

This was excellent!! This goes straight into my top ways for roasting chicken. The flavour was fantastic and it was fall apart tender and very moist. We loved the marmalade glaze which really does finish this off superbly. I served ours with roast potatoes, corn on the cob, mixed veg and yorkshire puddings for a really fab meal. Cheers Gerry for a super recipe and one that will be enjoyed again often.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef May 09, 2009

I've never roasted a whole chicken before. I'm not a huge fan of lemon chicken, but the orange in this sounded excellent. I used fresh rosemary, and served it with mashed sweet potatoes. It was probably the best roasted chicken I've ever had, and DH LOVED it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddysays May 03, 2009

This may be the best roasted chicken I ever have made -- certainly one of the top two! Utterly delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT February 23, 2009

Featured in my Book#237470. Originally reviewed on Apr. 22, 2008. Perfect taste, timing, and easy. And the smell while roasting is wonderful! After reading the other reviews, I did pack it into a tight pan and doubled the orange juice on the bottom. I also put an extra orange into the cavity. The glaze is wonderful and would be great on skinless chicken and pork. I sort of wonder if you could put this inside an oven cooking bag and then cut off the top and apply the glaze? Thanks for sharing, Gerry. Made for Pac Spring '08.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 25, 2009

I cooked this up for my DH today and he really enjoyed it! The glaze is a nice touch! Made for ZWT4.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 06, 2008
Orange Rosemary Roasted Chicken