37 Reviews

Very good. Bread was very moist and smelled wonderful. I've found a new fall favorite recipe! Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Nurse November 03, 2002

2 Thumbs up! Made it last night...it was Great! I glazed the loafs with a glaze of powdered sugar, orange juice, and almond extract. It just dressed them up a little. I will be passing this recipe on, thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Gal November 23, 2003

Flavor and texture were lovely. I taste no orange at all, but even so, this is a fabulous, moist pumpkin bread. I made one large loaf and 4 mini loafs out of this recipe, so I have some to give for gifts. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 21, 2002

Everyone else has said it all! This is super. Now I can make something other than banana bread for a change! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne03 December 10, 2002

I've been making this and it's a Christmas tradition since the 80's when I saw the recipe in Southern Living. I like to make all the liquid orange juice instead of using the prescribed water. Just a hint more orangey taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetrenfro_255982 November 13, 2015

5 stars - excellent ! I did not add the cloves, raisins or orange rind, but used more oj and less water (half cup oj / third cup water). Also, increased the cinnamon to 2 1/2 t., added 1/2 t. nutmeg and decreased the sugar to only 1 cup. Not quite the recipe as stated ... altered a little by matter of taste/preference. Again ... 5 stars ... and then some !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaAnne August 02, 2011

I left out the raisins (hubby hates raisins), but otherwise followed the recipe for the batter. I made about 3 dozen standard muffins (baked for 20 minutes). Very light and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose January 20, 2011

Delicious! Just the right amount of spices and nicely moist. I used dried cranberries rather than raisins and halved the recipe successfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 November 29, 2009

Oh Di, this is wonderful!!!!! I just snuck an end piece (my favorite cut) and it's fabulous!!! I left out the nuts as a preference, but other than that, I made exactly as written!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 27, 2009

GREAT! Easy and delicious. one that I will always use. I made no changes it worked out perfectly. thank you for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EllaP October 18, 2009
Orange Pumpkin Bread