10 Reviews

Today is my birthday and I had my wife cook this cake. It is very good. I like anything with orange in it. Thanks for such an easy recipe. For sure 5 stars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef sort of December 09, 2002

You have done it again Miriam. I substituted the left over orange juice for the water in the glaze. It was a really really good cake and I thank you for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK March 04, 2002

My daughter's preschool teacher loves pound cake, so for her birthday I baked this. It just came out of the oven, I doubled it to fit in a bundt pan and baked for 45 minutes. It is beautiful and very tasty! I was worried about the caramel sauce as it formed rock candy when I added the juice but I was patient and kept cooking it and after 5 minutes or so the crystals disolved and viola, carmel sauce!! Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper for sure!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kalamitykris May 20, 2009

This cake was very tasty and sublimely orange-y. I found the texture to be a little more along the lines of sponge cake, however, rather than a pound cake (which I wasn't really surprised at given the smaller quanity of butter). I thought the directions and ingredient list were a little confusing- for example, I only got 1/4 cup from 1 orange, not 1/2 cup, but since neither the cake ingredient list nor the caramel sauce list specified, it was kind of hard. I would rather see a list that says 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice for the cake, 1/4 cup freshly squeezed juice for the sauce (which I found duelly confusing because the quanity isn't mentioned but once in step 7, indirectly, for the sauce) and the peel of one orange for the cake. In any case, I have to admit that I tried to make the caramel sauce, but overcooked it and ended up with a burnt taste so I trashed it. The cake was extremely moist and flavorful without still, but I think without, perhaps partially subconsciously because its cooked in a loaf pan, it leans a little more towards bread than cake. The orange flavor was so pronouned that it almost tasted artificial (but in a good way!). I will be trying this again, but perhaps with some tinkering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie May 23, 2004

I loved the flavour of this but had an issue with the orange peel/sugar mix. Because of the moisture in the peel it kept clumping the sugar. No matter how long I blended it I still had large chunks of peel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 January 27, 2011

Good. I liked it. I didn't make the orange/caramel sauce. I didn't want to add the extra sugar. It still tasted very good just as a pound cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rifka October 31, 2009

I found this cake too dense to my test,Ilike more light texture.The flavor was good and the orange peel processed with the sugar is a technique to keep. THANKS FOR POSTING

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patkochi August 13, 2008

I made this a while back my granny wanted me make her a cake because she had just got a new bunt pan. It was good even though i did not make the glaze. Thanks for the recipe. ~Chris~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisM June 30, 2008

This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I was a little worried about all the orange peel as one reviewer mentioned it almost having an artificial taste. And even thought they said it was a good thing, it made me a little nervous. But I used all of the orange peel and it was just right. I rushed the sauce and it never caramelized. Even though it was clear I used it any way and it just soaked into the cake and tasted yummy. It kinda of looked like a glaze instead. Next time I hope to do it right. A good and easy recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linzjen December 18, 2007
Orange Pound Cake with Orange Caramel Sauce