Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Pound Cake with Orange Caramel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Pound Cake with Orange Caramel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2002

      Today is my birthday and I had my wife cook this cake. It is very good. I like anything with orange in it. Thanks for such an easy recipe. For sure 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      You have done it again Miriam. I substituted the left over orange juice for the water in the glaze. It was a really really good cake and I thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2001

    • on May 20, 2009

      My daughter's preschool teacher loves pound cake, so for her birthday I baked this. It just came out of the oven, I doubled it to fit in a bundt pan and baked for 45 minutes. It is beautiful and very tasty! I was worried about the caramel sauce as it formed rock candy when I added the juice but I was patient and kept cooking it and after 5 minutes or so the crystals disolved and viola, carmel sauce!! Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper for sure!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      This cake was very tasty and sublimely orange-y. I found the texture to be a little more along the lines of sponge cake, however, rather than a pound cake (which I wasn't really surprised at given the smaller quanity of butter). I thought the directions and ingredient list were a little confusing- for example, I only got 1/4 cup from 1 orange, not 1/2 cup, but since neither the cake ingredient list nor the caramel sauce list specified, it was kind of hard. I would rather see a list that says 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice for the cake, 1/4 cup freshly squeezed juice for the sauce (which I found duelly confusing because the quanity isn't mentioned but once in step 7, indirectly, for the sauce) and the peel of one orange for the cake. In any case, I have to admit that I tried to make the caramel sauce, but overcooked it and ended up with a burnt taste so I trashed it. The cake was extremely moist and flavorful without still, but I think without, perhaps partially subconsciously because its cooked in a loaf pan, it leans a little more towards bread than cake. The orange flavor was so pronouned that it almost tasted artificial (but in a good way!). I will be trying this again, but perhaps with some tinkering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I loved the flavour of this but had an issue with the orange peel/sugar mix. Because of the moisture in the peel it kept clumping the sugar. No matter how long I blended it I still had large chunks of peel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Good. I liked it. I didn't make the orange/caramel sauce. I didn't want to add the extra sugar. It still tasted very good just as a pound cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      I found this cake too dense to my test,Ilike more light texture.The flavor was good and the orange peel processed with the sugar is a technique to keep. THANKS FOR POSTING

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I made this a while back my granny wanted me make her a cake because she had just got a new bunt pan. It was good even though i did not make the glaze. Thanks for the recipe. ~Chris~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I was a little worried about all the orange peel as one reviewer mentioned it almost having an artificial taste. And even thought they said it was a good thing, it made me a little nervous. But I used all of the orange peel and it was just right. I rushed the sauce and it never caramelized. Even though it was clear I used it any way and it just soaked into the cake and tasted yummy. It kinda of looked like a glaze instead. Next time I hope to do it right. A good and easy recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Pound Cake with Orange Caramel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 192.0
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    21%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 190.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.8 g
    91%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites