9 Reviews

I used all purpose flour. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. I used 2 eggs and added fresh orange juice. The dought was hard to mix so I added a bit more orange juice and half a lemon juice. The taste is good but I don't taste the ground almond. Thanks Toni. Made for HOliday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 20, 2008

I enjoyed these with a cup of tea. I'm not a fan of orange so I used lemon instead. I usually make biscotti to accompany coffee, so I like that this one goes great with tea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyBoutCooking January 01, 2008

Good flavor, soft yet still crunchy. Used the advice to add salt. I also cut the recipe in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria August 12, 2007

Mmm! These are very good! I used a variation of another reviewer's suggestions and added 1/8 tsp salt, 2 tbsp vegetable oil, 2 tbsp orange juice, and soaked the seeds in the extract. It turned out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley C. May 11, 2007

I have made plenty of biscotti in my life. These are pretty tasty. I used 2 whole eggs, added a few tablespoons of vegetable oil, a little salt, a few tablespoons of orange juice and soaked the poppy seeds in the extract while I mixed the dry ingredients. The texture was like play-doh. I baked them for only 20 minutes to start and they were a breeze to cut (with a gentle sawing motion). I'll subtract some sugar next time and maybe make a drizzling glaze with confectioners sugar for decoration. Thanks for this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellicious June 13, 2006

i too had all the problems that the other people had but the flavor is great and worth making . i love biscotti but the price is prohibitive, its lucky for great recipes on zaar.dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. April 16, 2006

Great biscotti!!! I made the recipe as stated, but used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 unbleached white. I too had a lot of trouble forming the logs. I actually added about 1/8-1/4 cup of water to be able to form the batter with my hands. Perhaps more liquid should be added to the recipe ingredients? None the less, it was all forgotten when I tasted these! The orange, poppyseeds, and almonds create an unbeatable combination of flavours! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE November 12, 2005

A very tasty biscotti. I liked the crunch and that it is not too sweet. Like another reviewer, I had to mix the dough with my hands. I didn't pay attention to the serving quantity, and just eye-balled my slices, and ended up with only 18, rather than 36. My math says I would have needed to cut them 1/2-inch thick to get 36 cookies. Mine were way thicker than that! I guess I'm one of those people who always make serving sizes too big. I also ran out of poppy seeds, so only used 1/2 as many as the recipe called for with no problems at all. Thanks for a great biscotti recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy August 30, 2005

We really enjoyed these. I used whole wheat pastry flour but otherwise left it the same. This dough is very very stiff and needed to be mixed with my hands to get it to stay together. I don't think my logs looked as they should. They were much wider then they should have been which made it hard to cut them into 36 cookies. I got less, but that was my fault. This is not an extremely sweet cookie but it has a lovely taste and a nice crunch. And my kids loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 04, 2005
Orange Poppy Seed Biscotti