Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange-Molasses Glazed Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange-Molasses Glazed Chicken

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2004

      Moxie! We loved this chicken! The glaze is perfect. First off, I started with 3 cups of Sunny Delight, added the molasses, and I had to use white wine vinegar, out of red and...KIDDING, lol! I used real OJ!(but I really did have to sub white wine vinegar) The glaze is so good! Mine took longer than 15 minutes to cook down, too. I think it was because I used a saucepan, and not a large skillet--no biggie. The chicken came out moist and delicious. I will definitely make this one again! Thanks mox!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      The whole family loved this. I used 8 oranges though, but I think that's because I had to squeeze them by hand. I subbed dark corn syrup for the molasses because at the last minute I noticed I didn't have any, and it was still perfection. I think the glaze had to boil down for a 1/2 hour, maybe because I made a subsitution? It doesn't matter because this was just wonderful! I made your Cranberry Upsidedown Cake for after dinner and I think it's the perfect dessert for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Excellent provender. Followed directions explicitly and it turned out terrific. Thanks, Moxie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I agree completely with all said by Quest4ZBest and Jenn from New Orleans. This looks better than it turns out, but pouring the pan juices over everything hot on your plate definitely helps! For all that effort to juice the oranges (even with a machine), I recommend drinking the juice and using another chicken recipe ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I was excited to try this recipe...but was a little disappointed! It was good...but not something I'd want to make on a regular basis. I was hoping for something with more of an orange flavor - the molasses was more prominant than I would have liked. I didn't mind boiling down the sauce, but it did take over 15 minutes on medium/high (just for others to be aware of). I served over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      This was very tasty! I couldn't believe how so few ingredients could yield such a great and unique flavor. I served it with brown rice and and drizzled the remaining glaze over the rice, and the result was soooo yummy! My husband, my mother, and I all enjoyed it. I'll definitely make it again. Next time I'll not cook the glaze as long because it thickened up a lot after I removed it from the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      We really enjoyed the flavor of this! I made a half recipe and 3 oranges was not enough to get juice so I added the juice of about 8 clementines. While making the glaze, it quickly went from soupy to thick so be careful. Also, it was difficult to brush on the glaze since it becomes the consistency of taffy. I laid it on the chicken and it baked nicely. I had no extra to reserve though. Cleanup is a little extra work since the glaze hardens when it cools.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2004

      I was quite please with how this turned out. A lot of full bodied flavor with few ingredients. This would be a great dish for unexpected company (that is if you feel like treating them lol). Served with steamed rice, steamed broccoli and a side salad. Made a very nice dinner. I did cook my glaze for about 20 minutes. Next time I try it on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Excellent! Did this for lunch today. Other than cutting the recipe in half and using skinned de-boned thighs I followed recipe. To counter point the sweetness of the glaze I served it with Curried Couscous, Derf #16866. Both my guest and I were quite impressed. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      Wonderful recipe -I cut it back to two breasts - no problem. One of my favorites things to do with a recipe is to prepare as much as I can in the AM and finish it just before serving- I tried this with the glaze-wrong- perhaps I reduced it a bit too much but it turned quite solid when cooled and I had to pry it out of the measuring cup to warm it before brushing the breasts. It is a fabulous glaze but will be less work if you make it just before putting the chicken in the oven. The flavor from this glaze is wonderful! It is a keeper Thanks Moxie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      We found this recipe only "okay." The nice taste of the oranges comes through, but too much of the molasses taste. Wanted a little spice, so added a little kick with some chipotle pepper powder. Simple, but nothing special. And as others mentioned, too longer to boil down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I made this last night for a friend. This chicken turned out really well. I think I may have added to much pepper but overall it turned out good. The glaze took a bit longer than 15 mins. I used Minute Maid "Lots of Pulp" orange juice instead of squeezing them myself... would have taken too long. Thanks for another good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange-Molasses Glazed Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.7
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    71%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 68.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 94.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 38.2 g
    153%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites