22 Reviews

This is really wonderful bread. Like some of the other reviewers I also used the dough cycle in my bread machine and then made a braid and baked it in the oven for about 25 minutes. I also added dried cranberries to the dough. The combination of the orange marmelade and the craisins was so good. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 23, 2010

Wonderful flavor from the marmalade! I also used the dough cycle in my bread machine. I found that I didn't bake it long enough as the middle wasn't quite done. But I've learned now, that even though it looks done on the outside, the inside is a different story! I'll cover the loaf next time with foil, to let the middle bake through. Otherwise, a delicious loaf of bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes January 18, 2010

Delicious. I made it in my Oster bread machine, and it turned out just beautifully. I did substitute 1 cup of white with wholewheat flour, and it is perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lostfairy April 08, 2009

5 stars for sight and smell ~ I won't slice it because I made it for my oldest son who loves orange marmalade! I added 1/2 cup finely chopped toasted walnuts and 1/4 teaspoon orange oil. This was my first experience to bake outside the breadmaker! I baked in my GIANT Pyrex loaf pan (10-5/8"x5-1/2"x2-3/4") at 350 degrees for 25 minutes ~ the loaf sounded hollow to the thump test!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle December 25, 2008

i made this by hand and used less flour still great .dee

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. November 18, 2006

Followed instructions exactly, using marmalade I med from my own oranges. Recipe is perfect, but like others found, the Orange taste is negligible. I wonder how it would bake using orange juice instead of milk? I would not recommend the recipe if you want an orange tasting bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizbarrington June 12, 2015

Fantastic recipe! I used 1.4 wholemeal flour and a whole cup of (runny) orange marmalade. It had a really great heavy 'homemade' texture. Will be making this again - often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llj_nz December 15, 2013

The bread was okay. It smelled very nice, but I barely got any marmelade flavor at all. It was also very dense and heavy. It would probably make for good french toast, if I liked french toast... I will probably just use it for breadcrumbs. I like the idea, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo January 18, 2012

Wonderful bread with light orange flavor. I made it in my Panasonic bread maker from start to finish. I set the crust for dark but it came out bit too dark than I expected. I liked the denseness of this loaf. Perfect for toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka November 07, 2011

I didn't have orange marmalade, so instead of running to the store, I used blackberry jam in one loaf and raspberry jam in another. They both turned out DELICIOUS!!!!!! The flavor is not too strong, just enough to make the bread special. I made it in my bread machine and it was almost too easy of a recipe. I will be using it many more times. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendiger September 07, 2010
Orange Marmalade Oat Bread (Bread Machine)