17 Reviews

This drink was quick and easy to make with refreshingly satisfying results. Not only does it taste (in my opinion anyways) even better than a trademark Orange Julius, but I would even recommend it as the perfect drink to cheer someone up who is feeling a little down. Although I definitely agree that it only makes sense to double the recipe (unless you live in a magical land where frozen orange juice comes in 6oz cans). Although, if you like sweeter drinks, go easy on the orange juice as it can make the smoothie rather tart. Regardless this is definitely a must-try :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
centralperk_girl February 28, 2011

This was good with a strong orange flavour but tasted somewhat chalky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 25, 2010

This is so good! I used two cups of orange juice and 10 ice cubes instead of water and used 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisa January 06, 2009

This is a great drink for a hot summer day! I made it exactly as instructed and it turned out great; not too sweet and not too tart. The whole family loves them, even our toddler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoeandEmma June 20, 2007

A classic cold treat! We did find that the extra concentrate made it a bit too tart for our tastes, though. We tried adding a banana to help mellow it out a bit, but ended up adding extra of the other ingredients anyway. There wasn't a drop left in the blender, though, that's for sure! For those concerned about wasting OJ as another reviewer stated, you can get 6 oz cans or else just save half of the 12 oz can in the freezer indefinitely or in the fridge for a couple of days (although we doubled ours due to needing a higher number of servings anyway). Either way, my kids were thrilled. Thanks so much for posting. :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki March 19, 2006

I'm drinking one right now, and I can say this recipe is perfect! I've always loved orange Julius's from the mall, but I think this is better! However, I didn't add any sugar, but it still turned out perfect (I actually think adding the sugar would make it too sweet). Someday I plan on trying it with fresh orange juice, sure to be good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Linnea February 05, 2006

My family loves this! I've made this a couple of times already and again today for brunch! its just delicious! thank you Kaarin!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 29, 2006

I just realized I never reviewed this. I had posted the photo but for some reason the review isn't here. My goodness this was so good. I loved it. I haven't had an orange julius in YEARS. I will definatly make this again....AND SOON!!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan January 19, 2006

Yummy!!! I used non fat dry powder milk (added extra for more rich tasting) and extra water. Also used splenda. Will be making this one again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy January 17, 2006
Orange Julius Smoothie