65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good and creamy. I have made this with powdered sugar which makes it even more like the mall version. Love it, and drank it all the time when I was pregnant too. Easy to make if you don't mind getting the blender out.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Wilcox June 16, 2001

This is a great recipe and it really does taste like an Orange Julius drink. It makes a big batch and is fun to make.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea Bernhard November 06, 2001

Ok, I made this and left it on my counter for 10 minutes, and when I came back I found that the smoothie had separated into 2 parts. The top half was the milk, which had curdled (because of the citric acid in the orange concentrate) and had formed a sort of orange-flavoured "buttermilk", and the lower part was the orange "juice", the watery part. I really couldn't bring myself to drink it! Even before making this I thought it was odd that a smoothie recipe contain a citrus fruit, because the acid would almost always make the milk curdle! It's chemistry!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu March 15, 2002

This is just like the OJ's I grew up with, except for the added sugar. It's very unnecessary, orange juice has enough on its own. However, for added deliciousness, add a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream. Makes almost like a milk shake, but still healthier. It's a favorite in my family!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkvanstelt January 05, 2011

I learned this recipe in middle school home-ec and have enjoyed making it for years. To mix it up some try substituting coconut milk for the milk and/or using lime juice concentrate instead of orange. I'v also added pineapple chuncks for a tropical kick.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny January 07, 2010

This is a delicious recipe, but it wasn't created by the person who submitted it. I've been making this exact recipe for over 30 years. I don't remember where I got the recipe; it most likely came from a magazine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martie Vacek June 23, 2014

Tried it today. Loved the taste and did my family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 26, 2015

Amazing. Tastes nothing like the way you can get it at the mall-way better! However, I double the recipe and keep the sugar singled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliakm1 March 06, 2015

Really, really good. Added some vanilla ice cream which made it even creamer. Does taste quite a bit like the original!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nola68 March 06, 2015

Good OJs can be hard to find this was good an all but not as good as my grandmas (just my opinion)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elijah.mcvey November 24, 2014
Orange Julius