Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Date Muffins (Or Chocolate Chip) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Date Muffins (Or Chocolate Chip)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2009

      These were excellent. They remind me a lot of these great muffins I would get at the farmer's market in Bloomington, IN. I have really missed them, but these are a close approximation. I did use butter instead of margarine and I added 1/2 tsp of cloves, 1 tsp of fresh chopped ginger, and 1/4 cup ground flax. They turned out beautfully. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Oh. My. God. I'm a little leary when it comes to low fat/healthy foods because it's hard to find some that actually taste good. WOW. That's all I can say about these muffins!! I made them with chocolate chips and the only substitution I made was to use butter instead of margarine. I also didn't have *quite* enough white flour, so there was more whole wheat flour in it. The little chunks of orange rind in it are what seals the deal. They get sort of caramalized and chewy, and the muffins aren't overly sweet. This is one I'm DEFINITELY adding to my collection. Thank you SO much for an awesome recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This was great. I made a few small changes - I used 1 cup whole-wheat flour and 1/2 cup ground almonds instead of the flour combo suggested, and added 2 tbs of sour cream to make it lighter. I also needed to bake it for 30 minutes for some reason, but they turned out wonderful. Definitely a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Luv 2 BaKE, This muffin recipe is absolutely delicious made according to recipe except I used butter they freeze extremely well and are just as amazing heated up with jam! Of course I'm a date lover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      These were great and very easy. I actually added rhubarb instead of dates and I added it when I mixed the dry and wet ingredients. Adding the margarine and egg to the blended mixture made it so simple. These had a great flavour and texture and weren't too sweet.I made a double batch and they are disappearing like crazy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      WOW! These are DELICIOUS! We'll be lucky to have them last 2 days! My little one doesn't like dates, but had zero issues eating these. I just diced them up really small. The flavor combination with the orange was addictive! This is a definite keeper. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      These muffins were great I used mandarine oranges one whole and the juice from two...I added splenda instead of sugar and cinnamon and toasted almonds they were delish :) thanks for the recipe very moist and flavorful...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      these are phenomenal! i've been trying orange bread/muffin recipes for a while and couldn't find one that was orange enough....i guess i need the whole orange! i didn't have any dates in the house so i used mini chips and they are so so yummy! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Wow--these are truly fabulous muffins!! The orange flavor is incredible, the light texture is wonderful, and the level of sweetness is perfect! I used fresh Valencia oranges (from our backyard tree), and removed the pith on the whole one that went into the blender. And I used dates, butter (instead of margerine), whole wheat pastry flour (instead of the w/w and a/p flours), sodium-free baking powder, and added 1/4 teaspoon of salt--all of which worked out fine. This is definitely a recipe I'll make again, and a copy of it is now my best-of-the-best printed cookbook! Thanks so much for a great recipe, LUv 2 BaKE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      These muffins are the best! I used saskatoon berries instead of dates and they were very tassty. Think I will try blueberries next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      OMG what dreeamy muffins!! I made a few changes...I peeled the orange and removed the pith because it was an organic navel with lots of it. I used pineapple mango juice because that is what I had on hand, and chocolate chips. Fantastic! Light, moist and delicious! Thanks so much for a new fav recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      these were SO good for being lower in fat. i used smart balance butter instead of margarine and added a capful of vanilla for extra flavor. might be good with some cinnamon, too -- maybe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      awesome recipe... my only changes were to sub oj concentrate for the juice and reduce the sugar a bit... stronger orange flavour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Made them with more dates and 1/4 cup of splenda instead of sugar.....yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* - I brought these to a picnic we had at the local playground. I wanted to make them with dried dates but I checked the pantry and we were out of dates so I used the choc chips and I also used egg substitute other then these I left the recipe as written. Everyone enjoyed them, there were only three left. Thank you LUv 2 BaKe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      My 11yr old son and I made these muffins, swapping the dates for the choc chips. Mmmmm yummy. What lovely moist muffins, and so easy to make. The 1st batch were eaten so quickly the 2nd batch are cooking as I type!! Thank you very much for the recipe. What a wonderful way to get oranges into the children's diet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      These are delicious muffins with a wonderful orange presence! I used dates and, except for using butter instead of margarine, didn't make any changes to the recipe. I did end up with only 9, but I must have a habit of filling mine too full because I rarely get a full count with any muffin recipe. :) We really enjoyed these--thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      These were light and fluffy and easy and very tasty too! I used chopped dried fruit instead of dates and choc chips, of which I had neither. Thank you for a quick muffin recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Date Muffins (Or Chocolate Chip)

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.3
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    17%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 163.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes