33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Apparently I forgot to rate these after I made them, months ago. Sorry! These were very easy to make and were a big hit at the outdoor function that we brought them to. They have a wonderful texture and a subtle orange flavor that really goes well with the chocolate. Thanks for another great recipe, Karen!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef August 26, 2002

Like other reviewers stated I changed this recipe a bit. First of all I used zest from entire orange! Secondly I increased the flour to 1 1/2 cup and lastly I used a full bag of chocolate chips. Like other people stated the cookie dose not bake brown but stays this odd looking blond color. The bottom browned quite nicely and as a result I only baked them for 10 minutes a at a time. They came out very flavorful. Putting it in my keep file as I will be making these again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mainewmn December 09, 2009

I just love this site! I baked these cookies tonight and I couldn't wait to tell everyone how good they are. I only made a single batch and my husband ate so many of them I made another right away. So yes, double the recipe. You'll know why when you eat one. They are heavenly good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Dawn November 20, 2003

I made these tonight and they were easy and quick but I guess they weren't quite what I thought they would be. If you are expecting an orange flavored "chocolate chip cookie" this isn't the recipe for you. They are more like shortbread cookies with chips. My dbf liked them better than I did so the recipe is just fine they just weren't right for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glimmer March 01, 2009

My cookies turned out exactly as the reveiws described. Delicate, subtle, and browned easily on the bottom.These were very much like a short bread cookie...at my house we prefer a more rich cookie. Maybe next time I'll try these with butter instead of shortening. These also would have been great with or without the orange. Thanks for posting...I'll try again and re-reveiw :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbilyn February 27, 2009

I'm posting again since there is not a feature to allow you to edit your past review...I took my cookies to school, and, judging by the overwhelmingly positive responses, I think the recipe deserves 5 stars instead of 4 ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
briosgaid March 23, 2004

I love these, they are like a dream or a cloud. I used a combination of 1/4 cup shortning and 1/4 cup butter. (I used an organically grown orange for the zest....very refreshing not bitter zest.) These are like a blond chocolate-chip cookie...They are not "too" sweet, very refreshing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amie in Arizona January 06, 2004

Followed to a t. Came out terrible! Seems some ingredients were missing just by looking at the cranberry one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa M. December 23, 2014

Baked these today and they were very good. Reminds me of a soft shortbread. I doubled the vanilla. Easy to make too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker December 09, 2014

These were wonderful tender cookies Karen. They were quick and easy to make with terrific results. The texture of the cookie was perfection. I especially loved the combination of orange, vanilla and chocolate. These tasty cookies are similar to shortbread but with a twist. Thank you for sharing your great recipe. Made for Sweet December 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 28, 2013
Orange Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies