Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Cottage Cheese Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Cottage Cheese Salad

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2002

      Be sure you really squeeze the moisture out of the pinneapple, if not it can be a little runny. I made that mistake on my first try too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      This was VERY good and tasty.. mine came out kinda runny(i don't know what I did wrong..LOL) but it was still good and the kids really liked it and they DO NOT like cottage cheese and they didnt even know it was in there. a very good way to hide cottage cheese!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      Very easy and tasty. I took it to a covered dish party and there was none left. The only thing I added was a half cup of chopped pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      This salad went over in a big way on my Canada Day bbq buffet dinner; nobody guessed they were eating cottage cheese, either! It was extremely simple to prepare, looks very pretty with its pale orange colour, and disappeared fast. Since I had to buy my ingredients in Canada, I used a 500g tub of cottage cheese and the entire contents of a 1L tub of Cool Whip; this is a little more than the (imperial) recipe called for but it still worked perfectly. Great recipe; I even had to give it out twice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Pretty good! I liked it, but my husband didn't, so i've almost eaten the whole recipe myself!!! I couldn't find a 12 oz. cottage cheese, but found that the 8 oz. will work. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Ah.....a forgotten family favorite! The only thing I changed was adding a whole container of lowfat cottage cheese (24oz)instead of 12oz. This makes a lot and the flavor is wonderful. It tastes like a dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      My mother made this 35 years ago with strawberries and strawberry jello. I'd eat it for dessert. Thanks for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This was great! I made it low cal/low sugar. I used sugar free Jell-o, pineapple in it's own juice, sugar free cool whip, and 1% low fat cottage cheese. Tried to fine Mandarian oranges in it's own juice but could only find light syrup. I was very carefull to squeeze the juice from the crushed pineapple as everyone mentioned. I must have did a good job because it wasn't runny at all. Next time I think I might try a little less cool whip and perhaps some chopped pecans. I highly recommend this recipe for the orange/pineapple lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I tweaked this recipe as well. 16 oz cottage cheese, sf orange jello, only 1/2 the tub of cool whip and a dash of vanilla extract. I wanted my protein content higher and not as sweet as the whole tub of topping would have been. Tasted like a creamsicle! Yummy and a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I love this stuff! I use raspberry jello, pineapples (instead of oranges) and add pecans with all of the other ingredients. It is so yummy. I use sugar free jello and cool whip and it's still great without all of the extra sugar. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I grew up loving it and continue to make it. This can be altered by using lf cottage cheese, ff cool whip, and sugar free jell-o (any flavor) to make the whole thing healthier (beware however that sugar free jell-o won't dissolve quite the same way - ie, use the original recipe when serving guests ;) )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I have been looking for this recipe..thanks for posting. I use sugar-free jello and light cool whip. A fairly healthy snack with protein to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      I have made this recipe for years also. Always a big hit and so easy. I use an electric mixer and the cottage cheese becomes smoother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I thought this was very good. I took the advice of one reviewer and used 8 oz. pineapple and cottage cheese. It turned out very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is a great recipe. So quick and easy. A good friend gave this to me many years ago. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      To prevent your salad from being "RUNNY", cut the amount of cottage cheese AND pineapple to 8 oz. each. I've been making this recipe (with 8 oz of the above ingredients instead) for years and it comes out wonderful every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Company coming and I did not want to go to the store, I had all the ingredients and it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe, I will add pecans next time,definatly a keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      So simple to prepare and very tasty. I used sugar free jello, and lite cool whip. DH didn't like it, so it's all mine!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Sorry..We didn't like this at all. I used Cool Whip Free and sugar free Jello.. The cottage cheese (small curd) just seemed to 'drag' across the tongue. Everyone knew at the first bite that it was cottage cheese. It wasn't appealing to the eye, either. When my guests left I couldn't even give the stuff away. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Love, love, love. This is one of my favorite "fluffy" salads. It is soo easy, too! I am asked to donate a salad every few weeks for a community organization. This is absolutely in my rotation of recipes for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Cottage Cheese Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (1390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1882.5
     
    Calories from Fat 910
    48%
    Total Fat 101.1 g
    155%
    Saturated Fat 62.4 g
    312%
    Cholesterol 363.9 mg
    121%
    Sodium 1866.9 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 200.8 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 168.9 g
    675%
    Protein 57.9 g
    115%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes