12 Reviews

I cut this by 1/3 but found that 1 egg wasn't quite enough to cover my 2 pieces bread so my second piece was less eggy and more crispy from the syrup mixture on the bottom of the pan...I have to say I actually liked the 2nd piece better...it had a sweet crunchy coating that was divine..to up the orange flavour based on other reviewers I also added some orange extract. Very much enjoyed this decadent brekky. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** July 09, 2010

Woah, BABY!!! This is the best French toast I've ever had! I had my doubts when it came out of the oven, as it was pale. But once you flip it over and see the crunchy goodness - oh my! Made it exactly as written, using a baguette that had been sitting unused on the counter for two days. We sliced the bread 1/2 inch thick then let it sit in the egg mix for about ten minutes so it would absorb, then baked per the recipe for the full 20 minutes. I loved it plain, but then drizzled some of Emeril Lagasse's Cajun Chocolate Syrup on it and wow, it took it to another level! Thanks Boomette, for another great ZWT recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori July 19, 2013

This is a tasty French toast! The orange flavor is nice. It made a great breakfast! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 02, 2011

Used some wheat bread with this, and other than using 4 tablespoons butter, and doubling the honey this made for quite a morning treat. Great addition to the eggs and bacon this morning. Great Recipe here !! Made for Recipe Swap# 47.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 07, 2010

Nice french toast. I cut it back to 2 servings and made as directed. I agree with Baby Kato - I think that some orange rind would really be a great addition here. Thanks for sharing. Made for Tic Tac Toe Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 27, 2010

I also cut this recipe by 1/3 & made it with a nutty, whole grain bread, which combined nicely with the cinnamon & orange to produce a very satisfying breakfast! Thanks for sharing this great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 25, 2010

Nice french toast Boomie. It was very easy to throw together and was done very quickly. Made as directed. I didn't add any additional honey, I found it sweet enough. I would have liked more orange & cinnamon flavor, next time I would add orange rind to the mix. I garnished with cinnamon and icing sugar. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 22, 2010

This was different but pretty good! Added a little vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel October 19, 2014

I made this with the 2 TB butter and whole wheat bread and wow was it tasty! It was good enough to eat alone - no syrup required! I also liked the "crunch" this had (I baked mine 20 minutes). I can never achieve such a nice texture when I make regular french toast in a pan (it always seems to be limp), so I was super excited with this recipe. Only change I think I'll make next time is to bump up the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. Other than that, super recipe; so cool that everyone gets to eat at the same time, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook October 11, 2014

Good! A nice variation of French toast. I increased the recipe to use a pan full of baguette slices: 4T butter, 4T honey, 1 t cinnamon, 3/4 c orange juice, 5 eggs. Added the salt but shouldn't have since I used salted butter. Next time I'll cut the butter to 3T and add 1/2 t orange extract. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 27, 2013
Orange-Cinnamon French Toast