10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How wonderful to come home to the smell of this simmering in the crockpot! The combination of flavors is just delicious. I also used chicken tenders & cooked for about 3 1/2 hours. I ended up with leftover sauce, & I mixed it into rice with a few diced apples for a wonderful fruited rice side salad that was great later in the week. Thanks, Miss Annie for another winner!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie April 11, 2003

Sorry Annie I must of not clicked the stars hard enough! This is a great chicken dinner! TY

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE March 28, 2003

Very good! The chicken was tender in a lightly flavored orange sauce, which I served over rice. I couldn't help it...I add 1/4 tsp. curry and 1/4 tsp. crushed red peppers to this as we love spicy foods! I used chicken tenders,instead of chicken with bone/skin, so it was a very low-fat meal which I will cook again. Thanks for a winner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl March 25, 2003

This was a nice choice for a busy day dinner. I threw in large cubes of diced sweet potato. They made a nice additon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee July 09, 2003

If you like citrus flavours, you'll love this recipe! I added some finely minced garlic to the butter in step one and used skinless, boneless chicken breasts, and used 3/4 cup of chicken broth so that there was room to add 1/4 cup of light white wine. This dish smelt so wonderful while it was cooking and, as we'd anticipated, the chicken was both delicious and tender. We just loved the orange and cinnamon flavours, and the wine added just that little extra oomph. I also scattered some slivered almonds on top just before serving. We thoroughly enjoyed this with Baby Kato's Lemon Chive Rice #88333: a superbly, deliciously citrus-themed meal. And I had two meals of 2 serves to add to the freezer. What a bonus! Thanks Miss Annie for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 12, 2008

QUICK, and well received by my pickiest eater, a pleasant change. I enjoyed the subtlety of the sauce; I don't usually like fruity entrees. I used golden raisins and bone-in chicken thighs, althrough I removed the skin prior to cooking. I'm not sure that sauteeing the skinless chicken first made any difference; omitting that step would make this recipe so incredibly quick to prepare, great for a caregiver. The flour did not blend into the hot sauce willingly for me, so I would recommend mixing the flour with 2 tablespoons of cold chicken broth or water prior to blending into 1 cup of hot sauce from the crockpot. Will prepare this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 24, 2008

The only thing that I changed was to use chicken thigh fillets instead of chicken pieces. It meant that the meat shredded up nicely during the cooking process. My kids loved this recipe, we served it with couscous and some sweet potato, but I felt it was lacking some oomph. Thanks for posting xx

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherlyndria77 July 08, 2007

A nice change in crockpot chicken recipes. I used a combination of boneless skinless thighs and breasts which I did not sautee in butter. I then used 8 oz. frozen orange juice concentrate, undiluted, instead of the regular orange juice. I also threw in the sweet potato, but might not do it next time because it became the dominant flavor ... not that that was bad, but it was not what I was expecting. I took it to a potluck and it was all eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews March 12, 2005

This was excellent. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts cut in thirds. I also had a sweet potato in the house so cut that up and tossed that in as well. It made an excellent sauce which I served with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shells75 September 14, 2004

Easy-peasy and tasty too! pairs well with couscous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne June 29, 2004
Orange Cinnamon Chicken