Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Chocolate Marble Cake with Orange Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Chocolate Marble Cake with Orange Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      This is a ten star recipe!! Absolute GEM!! If you are ever confused whether to make a orange or a chocolate cake...this is the recipe for you!!! I can't stop gushing about this one...really simple and extremely tasty. Only modifications I made, was in the cake, I added only 1 tablespoon of orange rind, but I added 1/4 cup of orange juice to the batter, after creaming the butter and sugar. And in the frosting, I added 7 tablespoons of orange juice instead of 4 1/2 just so that it was easier to handle...easier to pipe. But seriously it turned out really beautiful. And don't leave the frosting out cos it makes a world of a difference. DELICIOUS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      This one turned out pretty good. I did not have unsweetned chocolate so I used about 4 tbsp of cocoa powder and mixed it into a paste with water and the baking soda. It turned out quite good except the chocolate part could have been a little sweeter for my taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This was a fantastic cake! The frosting, in particular, was so great (sweet, but not too sweet). I didn't include the mandarin oranges on the top...I thought they'd get funny or dried out after a while, and I hoped we wouldn't eat this entire cake too quickly. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written, and it turned out really well. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I didn't make the cake I just used the frosting for Chocolate Orange Cupcakes Chocolate Orange Cupcakes. And they I loved the frosting. I was licking the bowl. I didn't use all the frosting and need to find something to do with the rest. There is no way I was waste it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      My mum's more of a fruity over chocolate cake girl so I used this frosting to fill & ice Um Safia's Mama's Orange (Or Lime) & Coconut Cake - it was devine!! So smooth & creamy - my zest was more shredded than finely grated so it looked really effective. It was really nice to work with - perfect consistency & it kept well for the couple of days & travelling that it took to get to my mum's bday! Can't wait to try the cake out next!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      The frosting was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      This was INCREDIBLY delicious!! I made mine as a pound cake. Instead of milk and water I added 1 cup of orange juice. i also doubled the amt of orange rhind, and used 6oz milk chocolate. This was probably the BEST cake I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This came out a little dry and we wanted a richer flavor, so I substituted orange concentrate for grated orange and milk, and used semisweet chocolate instead of unsweetened chocolate. The idea is great, inspires me to make more variations with other fruit as well. The frosting was terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      This cake turned out fine. I found the cake mildly flavoured, and with a coarse, crumbly texture. The icing was quite sweet, but had a definite orange flavour and complemented the cake. I did find the chocolate batter a bit hard to work with because the baking soda made it quite airy, but otherwise I had no problems. The cakes released easily from the pans and came out quite even. The orange and chocolate flavours worked quite well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Chocolate Marble Cake with Orange Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 819.9
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    30%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 132.5 mg
    44%
    Sodium 729.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 139.0 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 100.0 g
    400%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes