Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Chicken Skewers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Chicken Skewers

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      This was enjoyed by DH and myself. There is a slight orange taste but it certainly isn't dominate. I used fresh ginger and omitted the salt because soy sauce is already on the salty side. I used Pheasant instead of chicken. Added veggies to the skewers and served it over rice. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This has a nice orange flavor! I marinated for about 5 1/2 hours and due to weather constraints, I sauteed the chicken. I like the honey added to the reserved marinade; gives the chicken a sweetness and the honey makes a nice thicker glaze. Made for AUS/NZ Make My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This was quite delish! I doubled the recipe for 4 boneless breast halves and 3 chicken thighs. The thighs were especially yummy! The only change was using fresh ginger instead of the powdered. I grilled these using charcoal, first directly over the heat then moving the pieces to the side. I started the thighs first, cooking for about 15 minutes before adding the breasts, I think the thighs took about 40 minutes and the breasts about 20. I skipped the grilled veggies as I made grilled garlic bread and wanted my veggies a bit different but I'm sure they would be delicious too. I had intended to take a photo but when I realized I had forgotten too, my DS's girlfriend said I should just take one of our empty plates! Thanks Boomette for another great recipe. Made for Everyday's a Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      What a lovely recipe Boomie! We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I did cheat and just used flattened chicken breasts instead of making skewers. The only little skip I made was to omit the hot sauce, The flavors are wonderful and the chicken was so moist. Served over brown rice with grilled asparagus on the side. Thanks for sharing your recipe in the tag games.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      My family loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Chicken cooked with this marinade is just so fabulously moist and flavoursome. I used slices of red pepper, onion and mushroom on the skewers between the chicken pieces, so naturally they also absorbed the wonderful flavours from the marinade. I slightly modified the marinade to meet our taste preferences: simply by reducing both the tabasco and the ginger. I used a low salt soy sauce and I did include the sesame oil which greatly contributed to the wonderful blend of flavours. We enjoyed this with rice. Essential to enjoy and savour every last drop of the marinade. Made for Every Day is a Holiday. I'll be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Boomette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      We had these tonight for dinner. Loved them. We had left over marinade that I plan on using on pork. Let you know how it goes. Made for everyday tag. Thanks boomette. My pic didn't turn out clear, so didn't post. Kitchen has such a great pic. Addition.. Nov 29th... we used left over marinade to dunk your Cajun Chicken Fingers into. oh yummmm. This marinade is a REAL keeper. Thanks boomette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      OK, so I was lazy and didn't skewer my chicken...but it was darn tasty nevertheless. (just a little less fancy) Tender with bursts of flavor in every bite. Even though I increased the garlic, the ginger was still the dominate player here. Kids LOVED it...which is always good! I served mine with fresh green beans and Basmati rice pilaf tonight. I think we have a new favorite in the house for grilled chicken. Thanks, Babe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      oh great marinade!, I increased the fresh garlic and the Tabasco, freshly squeezed orange juice is a must for this, I marinated for 8 hours, grilled them outdoors and served with marinaded cherry tomato skewers, we loved this, thanks for sharing Booms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      This was really tasty. We enjoyed it very much. The chicken was perfect, tender, juicy and very flavourful. I omitted the sesame oil but followed the recipe religiously and served it with your Sweet Potatoes With Orange Glaze . It was very satisfying. Thanks for an enjoyable dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      A new found favorite! This is super. I'm so excited to have made this recipe, and will repeat again and again. I added bell pepper and red onions to the skewers and BBQ exactly as the recipe is written. Served over Steamed white rice.... Yum, the boys loved it. Thanks for another great recipe that is a *Keeper* in my book. (Made for Bevy Tag 08)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Great tasting, & a very nice change of pace from my usual chicken dishes! I excluded the salt because of the amount of sodium in the soy sauce, & I followed justcallmetoni's cue & included colorful pieces of bell pepper! This all got broiled instead of grilled, but the result was outstanding ~ served over some brown rice! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for Zaar Stars Recipe Tag game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      made and enjoyed these for breakfast yesterday.. (it was a chicken day and i had to spread the chicken recipe's out lol) They were a good brekkie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Excellent! What a great blend of flavors, and not a bit of leftovers (boo hoo). Definitely a STAR in my book (as in FIVE STARS). *Zaar Star Tag January 08*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This is very tasty and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except I used chicken tenders and broiled in the oven. Made for Holiday Tag 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      These were yummy and easy to prepare. I used fresh orange juice and omitted the optional sesame oil. On reflection, I think the oil would have been a welcome addition adding some nuttiness to balance the sweetness from the orange and honey. I prepare mine on an indoor grill and threaded my chicken with red, yellow and green peppers and white onions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Skipped the honey as DH doesn't like sweet savory dishes. I also used the optional oil. Will make it again but only for myself, and will add the honey then! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      This was wonderful!!! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and breasts! I also used onion, red and green bell pepper between the meat when skewering. Will probably use again when marinating chicken for baking and grillings. Thanks Boomette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      WOW This is great. The flavor was awsome. I used chicken tenders so omitted the skewer part. Will definatly make this again. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This marinade was really good. I also made skewers of mushrooms and onions and basted them with the reserved marinade. Very good! **EDIT: I just realized looking BACK at the recipe that I forgot to add the honey to the reserved marinade before basting, but I did use o.j. concentrate, so it still turned out sweet, we didn't even miss the honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Chicken Skewers

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.8
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    26%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1387.3 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.6 g
    142%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes