Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Chicken Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Chicken Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2002

      This was excellent.I doubled the recipe,but not the red pepper,and it was just spicy enough.I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and served it over rice.Very good,and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Excellent flavour and easy to prepare. All I changed was the orange juice. I used orange juice concentrate to intensify the flavour and it did!! I, too, thickened it a bit with cornstarch and heaped it over rice. Thank you Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      This is yummy and has super flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      The instructions forget to mention what to do with the bell peppers. I assumed that I added them to the bottom of the crockpot with the onions, etc. Otherwise, this recipe was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Great recipe!! I didn't have celery on hand so I didn't use it, and I put most of the bellpepper on top of the chicken .. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch, and served the chicken with the bellpepper on top on a bed of sauce, it looked really good, and tasted even better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      This was really good & a different taste for chicken! Although I didn't do it this time, I think it is a good idea to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Also, instead of chopping the onions & green pepper, I just sliced one large onion and one green pepper, and chopped the celery. My husband loves cooked onions, so he appreciated this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Excellent! thank you. After rolling the chicken breasts in spices, I seared them in a bit of olive oil just to cook the outside of the breast a bit. I also added an extra 1/2 cup peppers and extra 1/2 cup celery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      This was ok, but I was expecting it to taste more like orange chicken -when i made this it turned out really spicy. it was still good for a new way to cook chicken, but it wasn't what I was expecting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Ok - I made a lot of changes to this one to suit our family's needs and preferences. But I thought I'd do a review anyway in case someone is contemplating the same changes I made! I omitted the cayenne, onion, celery, orange rind, and ginger and doubled the amount of bell pepper (used red). I also used orange juice concentrate instead of orange juice, for fear that I'd taken out everything that would give it any kick. We LOVED the chicken - just the right amount of heat, crusted with spices, and so moist! Really good flavor combination with the spicy and the orange. The orange juice concentrate, I'm sorry to say, was entirely TOO strong for us. I'm going to try making it again with just plain orange juice the way the recipe says to! The four-star rating is for what I think it will turn out to be when I make it again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      MMmmmmmmmm Gooooooood! How much simpler can you get. Common ingredients, but awesome flavor. I do so love citrus and chicken! Used the entire orange for zest and used frozen oj concentrate as did another poster. Thnx so much for posting this recipe Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      DH really loved this, it was just ok for me. We both thought the celery didn't really fit. DH loved the spice kick. Easy recipe with lots of sauce, so suggest serving over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Take out the fact that I over did the cayenne, this was a lovely meal. The only thing I would say is not to cook it as long as six hours as the chicken was very dry. I like the fact that I always have the ingredients and it is a lovely flavour. This will be cooked again. Hubby also wants me to try it with pork. Thanks Mirji.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      This was so easy to make! Chicken fell apart, had great flavor and family loved it! Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      Don't know what I did wrong, but chicken was dry and not too flavorful. My kids definitely did not like this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

    • on November 15, 2004

      I too used the concentrate instead of just juice. It gave great orange flavor. Next time I will use a little less of the peppers and orange peel. All in all, this was a flavorful and easy to prepare recipe and just needed a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce for serving. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2004

      Good chicken, but like some of the other reviewers mentioned, it didn't taste a whole lot like orange chicken. To me, it tasted a little like curry. I would make this recipe again. Very easy with good instructions for cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Mirjam I love your recipes but this one just didn't hit it with me. I didn't change anything but it lacked some zing. The flavor just didn't come through. Neat time I think I will omit the grated orange rind as this caused a bit of bitterness to the flavor (perhaps our oranges are not up to the quality you have access to). The recipe did not say when to put in the green pepper but I assumed that it would go in with the onion, celery & garlic on the bottom. I asked my guests to rate the recipe and they all said about a 3 - It was okay but---

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      Just a word of caution, I would wash the orange carefully or use organic orange for the rind. Moreover, if you have one of those later model crockpot, you need to reduce the cooking time accordingly or your chicken will be really dry like mine. Although my dish did not turn out the way I expected, I blame it on my developing taste bud and cooking skill, therefore I disqualify myself from rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2002

      Great recipe! Very low in fat, spicy, sweet (but not overly) and flavorful. I omitted the celery and used both red and green peppers for extra color. Served over white rice, this recipe makes a nice sauce that looks great on the plate. I'll definitely make this again. Note: I thought ths was very spicy, but I have super-sensitive taste buds. My husband didn't think it was spicy at all. Also, I cooked the chicken breast for 5 hours on low. I'm sure 6 hours would work too, but I find 5 hours is plenty when cooking boneless, skinless breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Chicken Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.1
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    55%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 68.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 425.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes