20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent.I doubled the recipe,but not the red pepper,and it was just spicy enough.I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and served it over rice.Very good,and easy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 January 08, 2002

Excellent flavour and easy to prepare. All I changed was the orange juice. I used orange juice concentrate to intensify the flavour and it did!! I, too, thickened it a bit with cornstarch and heaped it over rice. Thank you Mirjam.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo May 04, 2002

This is yummy and has super flavour.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kareybear April 05, 2002

The instructions forget to mention what to do with the bell peppers. I assumed that I added them to the bottom of the crockpot with the onions, etc. Otherwise, this recipe was great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Bingham March 27, 2002

Great recipe!! I didn't have celery on hand so I didn't use it, and I put most of the bellpepper on top of the chicken .. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch, and served the chicken with the bellpepper on top on a bed of sauce, it looked really good, and tasted even better!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa March 08, 2002

This was really good & a different taste for chicken! Although I didn't do it this time, I think it is a good idea to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Also, instead of chopping the onions & green pepper, I just sliced one large onion and one green pepper, and chopped the celery. My husband loves cooked onions, so he appreciated this! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette March 05, 2002

Excellent! thank you. After rolling the chicken breasts in spices, I seared them in a bit of olive oil just to cook the outside of the breast a bit. I also added an extra 1/2 cup peppers and extra 1/2 cup celery.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne Marchal March 10, 2004

This was ok, but I was expecting it to taste more like orange chicken -when i made this it turned out really spicy. it was still good for a new way to cook chicken, but it wasn't what I was expecting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonA May 09, 2003

Ok - I made a lot of changes to this one to suit our family's needs and preferences. But I thought I'd do a review anyway in case someone is contemplating the same changes I made! I omitted the cayenne, onion, celery, orange rind, and ginger and doubled the amount of bell pepper (used red). I also used orange juice concentrate instead of orange juice, for fear that I'd taken out everything that would give it any kick. We LOVED the chicken - just the right amount of heat, crusted with spices, and so moist! Really good flavor combination with the spicy and the orange. The orange juice concentrate, I'm sorry to say, was entirely TOO strong for us. I'm going to try making it again with just plain orange juice the way the recipe says to! The four-star rating is for what I think it will turn out to be when I make it again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megicce June 01, 2010

MMmmmmmmmm Gooooooood! How much simpler can you get. Common ingredients, but awesome flavor. I do so love citrus and chicken! Used the entire orange for zest and used frozen oj concentrate as did another poster. Thnx so much for posting this recipe Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter November 01, 2008
Orange Chicken Crock Pot