Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Bran Flax Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Bran Flax Muffins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2007

      I made them low-sugar but substituting Baking Splenda for the brown sugar. Also, I couldn't find Wheat Bran so I used Wheat Germ and they still turned out fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      I have been making these muffins just as the recipe states for over a year and they are wonderful! Moist, orangey, freeze well if you can save any back! They are always well recieved, even by those not so health-conscious. If you do not have a food processor, use a blender, half the ingredients at a time and it works fine. I was intending to post this, but glad you have done it. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      I love these muffins! The recipe should remind bakers to wash & scrub the nasty pesticides off the orange skins (I forgot the first time I made them, as I'm not used to baking with the entire orange).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Wonderful! A definite repeat in my house because of all the healthy grains in them and just the right sweetness. These were crumblier than I expected, but were very moist. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I love this recipe and have been making it for years. But last year I made an accidental ingredient omission and the results were even better. I left out the flour!!! Which is a good thing for me, and for many others, because of allergies, calories or just avoiding processed grains. The muffins are moister, denser and even more flavorful without the flour. Do everything else as written. It makes about 20 muffins, but as stated in another review, the muffins don't rise much. Also when I made my last batch I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I used one cup of lowfat (2%) milk with three tablespoons of white vinegar added to it, and let it sit to curdle for about a half hour or so. The muffins tasted just as good as usual. As for the bitterness of the orange rind, I often will use thinner skinned and smaller valencia oranges, maybe three smaller ones, and find that these work well. Sometimes I'll only use the skin of one orange, but I think if you process the oranges well, the skin becomes very tiny chunks that add to the taste of the muffins. These are a favorite in my home. I would advise not to use cooking spray and stick with the muffin cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I asked my nutritionist and she said it's the flax OIL that you can't cook. Flax seed or meal is safe to cook in baked goods, ie this recipe. See this article: http://www.flaxcouncil.ca/english/pdf/stor.pdf Update: I made these twice now. The second time they came out a little bitter, but tasted alright with butter and jam. I think the orange rind might have affected it, so next time I will try it after peeling, and not get pieces in there (which my kids don't like). Left out the raisins and used whole wheat flour and added protein powder, so they didn't rise as much, but very healthy breakfast muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I quite enjoyed these dense, tasty little muffins!! As they don't rise, (like the signature muffins would) what you put in the muffin tin is what you get. Without knowing that, I ended up with 28 muffins...but that is O.K. because I know that they will go fast! Yes, I would make this recipe again. Thanks for the contribution, cookalot#2!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Very good recipe. I used grapefruit instead of the oranges making sure to strain the skin through a colander so as to avoid bitterness.I also added a bit more oil. Wonderful with the golden raisins. I have a hot oven so my temp ran at about 325,time at 25- 30 min. the only draw back is that is just a bit time consuming compared to other muffin recepies, but the taste and healthfulness of the finished product is well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      We've tried this recipe before and found the muffins to be undeniably healthy but somewhat dry. Some family members really loved it while others wanted something a bit lighter. We searched until we found an adaptation of this one online at the University of Virginia Cancer Center and have posted it here under "Yummy bran and flax muffins"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      These were good! We found these a little dry, so I will try these again and maybe add some apple sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I used all oat bran, and have been eating one for breakfast everymorning for the last 2 weeks, they freeze nicely. and just right with a half grapefruit to get me through the morning guilt free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Liz' warning below re: baking with flax at high temps worried me - I looked around and couldn't find any info supporting this on the net. You are not supposed to heat up flax OIL but baking with seeds at any temperature seems okay. Does anyone else know about this or can you suggest a substitute for the flax in this recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      Just an FYI. The chemical formula of flax changes when you cook at a high temperature. You should not cook flax above 300 degrees. 375 will turn the flax into an oil that is not healthy for people to consume.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Very good, high fiber muffin. Moist and delicious. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      These muffin were very. They are moist and very flavorful. I've substitued dried apricots for the raisins. Once I got all the ingredients they were a snap to make. They freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I have been looking for a way to add more flaxseed into my diet. These were perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This is an excellent muffin, tastes good and is good for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      These are great muffins, Dorel! They don't taste "healthy" if you know what I mean. I made a half recipe but accidentally put in two oranges, so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour. They still turned out really good. Nice texture and not too sweet. I'll be making them often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      This is basically the same as #97315 which has received excellent reviews. I like that this recipe reminds us to seed the oranges in case they are not seedless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Bran Flax Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1668 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.8
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    39%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 169.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes