7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This had a nice flavor and looked lovely but we found the texture to be a bit dense and the biscuit chewy. I was careful not to overwork the dough so was surprised by the chewiness, Most baking powder biscuits use around 1/3 cup butter or shortening to 2 cups of flour so I wonder if a little more fat would help improve the texture. Made for ZWT 8 by one of the Wild Bunch

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet July 22, 2012

Yummylicious!!! So fast and easy to make. The recipe can easily be halved. I used Splenda Blend in place of the sugar. I also used a little more orange peel and threw in a dash of orange extract. The biscuits rose beautifully and were delicious. A little butter and I was in biscuit heaven. As easy as these are to whip up, I will be making them on a regular basis. Thanks, loof...this one is going straight into the keeper file. Made for December 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 December 01, 2012

Great biscuits with lovely orange flavor! I made it as written and they were delicious. I served them with bacon and scrambled eggs for breakfast. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8- France.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY July 28, 2012

Absolutely wonderful, satisfying biscuits, great for breakfast & also as a great snack anytime of the day! The only thing I changed was to up the amount of orange zest to a whole tablespoon! Definitely a recipe worth making again & again! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 18, 2012

Loof we really enjoyed these delicious biscuits. They were light and fluffy, with an amazing subtle orange flavor. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing. They were so quick and easy to make, I'll be enjoying these often. Served with sweet potatoes and pork spareribs, they were the perfect accompaniment. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 26, 2011

These are wonderful breakfast treat this morning!!! I made 1/4 of the recipe for DS and I this morning. Made exactly as written and these turned out perfect. I was worried that it would be too sweet, but it was just the right sweetness and orange flavor. I just but some butter on the warm biscuits and enjoyed every bite. Thanks for doing such a wonderful job hosting the Football Pool of 2009!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 10, 2010

Loof - these turned out quite well and are pretty simple to prepare. I'm really impressed with the orange flavoring and the brushing of the tops with the juice and then some sugar just makes it a special treat! I used a bit of extra orange zest to decorate the tops too - finely chopped - just to add a bit of pizzazz! My friends and I reallly enjoyed them as a morning treat! Made during the Sweet Traditions tag event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 22, 2009
Orange Biscuits