Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Orange Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Beets

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2002

      Lovely side dish! I used my canned beets, so I had this done really quick. The orange is a VERY good compliment to the beets. I added 1 teaspoon sugar to get a sweet tart taste. I used toasted sliced almonds. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      We love beets and this is a good recipe. I peeled the beets before cooking them, they were very large beets and would have taken forever to cook.. I left out the almonds it would have been a nice final touch (Iforgot to buy them) Thanks Dorothy for another winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Oooh, this is so delicious! I've made it over and over again, sometimes topped with chopped pecans, or walnuts, but I love to use pistachios the most of all, the deep red really sets off the bright green of the chopped nuts... Yum!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This is a delicious dish! Clementines have been on sale here, so I had a huge box of them to use. Instead of the orange called for in the recipe, I used three clementines. Two were cut up in chunks over the pot (using all the juice), while I squeezed the juice from the third. Other than that, I made the recipe as written. Thank you, Derf, for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      delicious!! this was my first attempt at making beets, and they were just lovely! a little dangerous - everything i touch is now fuchsia - but sooo tasty! i saved the greens and made crepes using Crepes for the batter and Beet Greens with Beets for the seasoning. it was my favorite lunch i've had in a long time. thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This was very good. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Very easy and very delicious! Definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Ahhh, this was just great. Perfect sauce. Easy recipe to follow. Easy recipe to make. Just because of laziness, I didn't put the almonds, but it could have only made this better. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

    • on September 04, 2007

      very nice. i've never cooked beets before (but im a big fan of my nanna's pickled beets :) ) and i was very happy with the results. i baked my beets at 450°F. covered with foil for about an hour and then took off the skins and sliced them up. i didn't have any orange rind and skipped the almonds, but it was still very nice. the orange flavour came through nicely. thanks derf :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was a nice change from the typically sweeter beet dishes. The orange flavor comes through nicely. I had precooked a couple of beets and made a scaled down version for DH and me. It is good and something I will probably make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      I used canned beets and then followed the recipe. The orange and beet flavor is great. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      This was very good, I will definately make this again. Instead of boiling the beet I wrapped it in foil and roasted it in the oven at 350 degrees for 90 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      Excellent recipe! I think I used half as many beets as the recipe called for, and as such, the orange flavor was very strong. It may be perfect for a fall vegetable dish, especially if you don't like the taste of beets on their own. Also, using the boil/cold water plunge method described in the recipe really makes removing the skins VERY easy. I'll be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      My husband liked these ALOT, but I didn't care for them too much. I am a beet lover and really looked forward to a nice variation for beets. I followed the recipe to a T, but doubled it since I had more beets than the recipe called for. I also added some lemon zest from the fresh lemon I squeezed for the lemon juice requirement. While cooking the beets and sauce, mine didn't turn into syrup, although it thickened a bit after cooling. I didn't have almonds on hand, so I toasted some sesame seeds and used them instead. Since hubby liked it, that's ok with me, but if he didn't, I probably wouldn't make them again. On a postive side, it smelled wonderful as it was cooking. The orange and lemon zest gave off an appetizing aroma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.9
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    53%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 82.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites