11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice base recipe. I ended up adding two cloves of garlic and 3 Tbs of minced onion for some substance.... just a personal thing, this was great on a spinach salad with mango and strawberries!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja July 11, 2012

This is wonderful. For those who would like the dressing to be thicker, try using frozen orange juice instead of fresh. Still tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quivira May 05, 2010

This was really good on a simple spinach and strawberry salad, as part of a cold supper of salmon and chilled carrot soup. ( Gingered Carrot Soup With Sage )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey August 18, 2007

Just wanted to note, that I make a dressing very similar (only without the cumin) and I have no idea of the measurements as I do everything to taste. I'll have to try this and give a rating. It sounds about the same, I think I use more brown sugar and I also add some ground pecans (it makes this dressing a little thicker and gives a nutty taste).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JMigs;0) June 28, 2007

Loved this dressing! Toasted some cumin seeds and then whizzed them in the grinder with peels of orange zest. Served over a simple salad of greens onions and herbs and also over a salad with olives, capers, blue cheese, orange, and spiced nuts--Great on both!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 27, 2007

A nice vinaigrette - the orange flavor was not overstated and would definitely be good with mandarin oranges in the salad (which sadly, I didn't have on hand this time). Made for Zaar World Tour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. June 12, 2007

Amazing dressing! Served it on mixed greens with red onion. This would go nicely with Southwestern, Mexican or Middle Eastern food. We like making our own dressings so thanks for a great new one dicentra!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast June 10, 2007

This is a delicious dressing! I didn't have the zest, so I left it out, and I didn't feel that the dressing needed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip April 24, 2007

Yep this was very yummy. I wouldn't change a thing. Made with the suggested spinach salad with red onions, mandarin oranges and slices of red bell pepper. thanks for a nice dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 06, 2007

OMGosh!! I can't say enough good things about this dressing! I loved the flavour. It was tart and sweet all at the same time. I added a tsp of poppy seeds and a tsp of sesame seeds simply because I had them here. I will be making this dressing a LOT. I only wish I could make it a bit thicker. I will try and work on that. Although that didn't stop me from enjoying it! I drank what was left in my bowl! So good! Thanks so much for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn November 14, 2006
Orange Balsamic Dressing