8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I got 14 scones. I used plain yogurt. Since I didn't have an orange to have orange peel, I added 1/2 tsp of orange extract. It gave a great taste of orange to the scones. I had sliced almonds and I put everything in the food processor. Thanks Momaphet :) Made for ZWT8 for Diners, Winers and Chives

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 24, 2012

These were really good, though the almond and orange flavors are quite subtle. Mine were nice and brown at 20 minutes, but it probably depends on how flat you pat it out, I made mine about 3/4 inch high.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 06, 2012

Outstanding scones, these! I pretty much followed your recipe (made the buttermilk version), although I included a very generous amount of orange zest! Very, very nice, & just as satisfying the next morning, too! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 14, 2010

Perfect texture for a scone and I loved the almond flavor. My dough was a bit wet so I didn't separate them which was wonderful because I like my scones on the soft side anyway. I gave the tops a brush with cream. I should be getting a call any minute from my mom and dad thanking me for these sweet delights that I left for them. From one Unruly to another, thank you! Made for ZWT 6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 27, 2010

I made these scones for Easter and totally forgot about writing the review last night! Simply wonderful, they could not have been a better choice for the day. We enjoyed them with Indian Tea and WOW, what a great combo! I didn't find them at all difficult to make and as Chef Kate said the aroma is tantalizing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 13, 2009

Wonderful! And not much work at all...I used buttermilk and ground almonds and ended up with a dozen scones. The aroma is lovely and the taste lives up to the scent. And they freeze beautifully. Thank you so much, Momaphet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate February 19, 2008

This was my very first attempt at both baking and eating scones. They were easy and quick to make (I made them on a Friday night after work) and tasted exactly the way I was hoping they would. I did have to add about 3/4 cup more flour because my dough was more like batter than dough, not sure if it had anything to do with the humidity we were having. I used buttermilk and freshly squeezed orange juice, which I am convinced made all the difference in how wonderful these taste and smell. I brushed my scones with cream and sprinkled with turbinado sugar before baking and served them with some whipped cream. Received rave reviews from scone connoisseurs in our home. Thank you very much for a keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls January 19, 2013

wow this a really good scone recipe really subtle flavors .makes alot of scone so those wanting not so much should cut in half you will still have enough loltry this one zaar world tor 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 28, 2012
Orange Almond Scones