Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oprah's Favorite Turkey Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oprah's Favorite Turkey Burger

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2012

      A friend has made this recipe for me several times and I don't understand what all the excitement is about. Lots of interesting ingredients but they don't do anything special together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      My husband loved it! I seasoned the grated apples with onion and left the scallions out; I also left out celery and added celery salt. I also nixed the chutney because I don't know what that is. The kids sense something was "Different", but they ate it up when they tasted it! Success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Interesting. I have never made turkey burgers before and neither of us hated or loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I also reduced the amount of salt and pepper and omitted the lemon; and shredded the apple in my food processor. Other than that, made as directed. Marvelous! I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Really wonderful. We never eat turkey and we were both thoroughly impressed! I cut the recipe down a little since there are only 2 of us. I also looked everywhere for the chutney with no success. Instead I used tamarind chutney sauce ("Raj Masala"). I took the advice of grating the apple. Served with grated asiago, spinach, red onion, avocado and mayo. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Very tasty and different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I agree with a previous poster that it's all about the side chutney. Next time I make it, I'll grate the apples as someone suggested. I didn't like biting into the chunks of apples, though I recognized the flavor the apples added so don't leave them out! I ate first without any chutney, was like, "this is good". It become 4 star for me with a side of chutney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made these only because I wanted something healthier for my family. I'm not a big fan of meat AND turkey rates at the bottom (just above organ meat). Sooooo I was hesitant when I sat down, but everyone was ooohhing and aaahhhing about the burgers. We (ok - I) was VERY pleasantly surprised by the flavor, texture and juiciness of these burgers. I left out the pepper sauce and decreased the salt and pepper due to wimpy kids but added a few shakes of liquid smoke. I will make these again when the carnivores request a burger. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Amazing! My husband doesn't eat turkey but he loved these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      These were good and juicy! I found the black pepper a little strong so will decrease next time. Thanks Resaint, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      My husband and I liked these burgers. I only used 1 lb of ground turkey, 1 medium green apple (I shredded it with a cheese grater--worked really well), Half a celery stalk, 1 green onion stalk (the green only), 1 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp pepper. I left out the Tabasco sauce, I'm not a fan. I also cut the lemon into 4 wedges and used one wedge for the juice and zest. (Use the rest as a garnish for your drink that evening) I forgot the parsley. The 1 pound made 4 large sized burgers. This had a lot of flavor. My husband kept saying "wow." No need to add ketchup or anything just plain buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Was hosting a party for ladies and decided to make sliders. This recipe made 24 good sized sliders. These were a hit! I reduced the salt by half and baked in the oven in a broiler pan. Turned out fabulous! Everyone was raving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      No need to persuade me! This is the BEST turkey burger recipe - Oprah's advice was spot on, as usual. Ha! I only made one SIMPLE change - I used Golden Delicious apples instead of Granny Smith. I wanted a little bit more sweet to blend in with the rest of the flavors. These were TO-DIE-FOR!!! I cut the recipe in half (since it was just DH and I) and I ate 3 out of 4. No, not in the same sitting, but I just couldn't get enough. DH was stuck with peanut butter and banana sandwhiches for lunch the following couple of days, because I wasn't willing to give up the leftovers. LoL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      i was afraid to tell my husband and son there was apple in the turkey as it doesn't take much to turn them off. It was my little secret until they both said "these are really good!"What a great way to pep up healthy turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This is an INCREDIBLE turkey burger! I too decrease the lemon to just the juice of one small lemon, and then I also mix the Major Grey chutney with some basic BBQ sauce to use as the topper (call me lazy, but I didn't do the pear chutney when I had a great tasting one already available). Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I Love this burger. MY husband is on a health kick and one of his relatives gave him this recipe. We made it the night before made it into 8 huge burgers and grilled the next day . Yummy with a slight zip. I think I could really pick out the lemon flavor a little more then I would like so I may reduce that next time.WE had a neighborhood party and used the rest of our burgers and needless to say they were a hit and disappeared quite fast. Try this one I don't think you'll be disappointed. D~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I have made this recipe twice now. (There is another recipe for the accompanying sauce on the Oprah website). When I made them the first time, I didn't make the sauce. They probably needed the sauce as it was a little bland. I used extra lean ground turkey. The second time I made these, again I didn't make the sauce (out of pears) but doubled the scallion, apples and celery. This made for really really moist burgers that almost fell apart when grilled on the barbeque but they were even better! I may just make them like this from now on :) Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I made burgers, but not the pear chutney. I liked, very fresh taste, but if you want a "burger" taste, this is not it. My hubby and kids did not like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      We have had this several times, and love it. Here's a tip: try it with pear chutney Peach Chutney by evelyn/athens. Hers is so much better than Major Grey's and NOT expensive. (My bottle of MG's had very little fruit in it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Great recipe for a light summer change to the "traditional burger". I Do reduce the salt by half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oprah's Favorite Turkey Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.4
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    14%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 140.7 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1869.5 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 56.2 g
    112%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Major Grey chutney


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites