14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for Thanksgiving. My guests all *loved* it. I was reaching for my water glass a couple of times, because the horseradish was a little strong. So if you are sensitive, add a little at a time til you hit your "taste" just to be sure.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore December 08, 2001

I tested this out for my family's Christmas dinner and it came out great. I agree that the cream seems to cancel out the horseradish's spiciness, and it never seemed overwhelming at any point. My daughter sensed spicy right away and wouldn't touch it. I'm confident most of my family will love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baker46 December 23, 2010

good food

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poliny1999 October 27, 2009

Loved these!!! Can't say enough good things about them! I used a 6.5 oz jar of Reese Prepared Horseradish in place of what the recipe called for because that's all I had. Worked great and was plenty of flavor for my taste buds. I left out the heavy cream because I didn't have any and just dashed a little but of 2% milk in to give the potatoes a little moisture. I used grated garlic salt instead of kosher and I didn't vary the type of potatoes like it called for, but everything was still SO yummy! I served these with Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Meatloaf: Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf! and it made a really good combo- tho the flavors kinda battled= but still good! Thank you for posting WildlifeDi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meri Beth September 28, 2009

These were absolutely FABulous. My friends who said they weren't hungry served themselves extras! I altered these slightly by replacing the horseradish with a 1/2 cup of sour cream and adding about 2/3 cup of chives. WIll definitely have to make them again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flowerrr September 21, 2008

Man...these were terrific...I did adjust a few things: I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup, used prepared horseradish and Fat free half-and-half (was all we had). The prepared horseradish is a lot stronger so I only used two tablespoons. The combination was awesome and got rave reviews from all who ate them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy & Scott Saunders September 07, 2008

We served these fabulous potatoes w/ grilled filet mignon. YUM! We are huge fans of horseradish. I did not find that the horseradish gave it "kick" but rather gave it a wonderful subtle flavor. I think the heavy cream must temper the heat factor. Don't be afraid to try it if you are worried about heat. I combined both red & Yukon gold potatoes and halved the recipe. Just PERFECT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour May 25, 2008

I am not a horseradish fan, so I put just a quarter cup, but my husband and my neighbor (whom I made it for to go with Stout Beef Stew) said they could have handled the whole 1 and 1/4 cups horseradish. Delicious!! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF.OF.THE.EAST June 17, 2007

Great flavor, but I realized I'm not as huge a horseradish fan as I thought I was. Add a bit at a time of horseradish until you get it to the "bite" that you like. This is definately Not a Kids dish! LOL! I used evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream and I think it worked just fine. I made 1/2 the recipe and just added the evaporated milk to the potatoes to get the consistency I wanted. Would go great with a steak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsmomma February 04, 2007

Fabulous mash! This is one of those recipe finds that keep me coming back to zaar pages, searching for more gems. Like some others, I also halved the butter and used milk for cream, and it was very good! We loved the peels in the mash, giving it more healthy texture. And the horseradish was to die for! I admit, I only used 1/3 cup of it, and it could have done with a little more, like 1/2 cup, but 1 1/2 cups most definately is a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare December 18, 2006
Oprah's Classic Mashed Potatoes