Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oprah's Classic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oprah's Classic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2001

      Made this for Thanksgiving. My guests all *loved* it. I was reaching for my water glass a couple of times, because the horseradish was a little strong. So if you are sensitive, add a little at a time til you hit your "taste" just to be sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      I tested this out for my family's Christmas dinner and it came out great. I agree that the cream seems to cancel out the horseradish's spiciness, and it never seemed overwhelming at any point. My daughter sensed spicy right away and wouldn't touch it. I'm confident most of my family will love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      good food

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Loved these!!! Can't say enough good things about them! I used a 6.5 oz jar of Reese Prepared Horseradish in place of what the recipe called for because that's all I had. Worked great and was plenty of flavor for my taste buds. I left out the heavy cream because I didn't have any and just dashed a little but of 2% milk in to give the potatoes a little moisture. I used grated garlic salt instead of kosher and I didn't vary the type of potatoes like it called for, but everything was still SO yummy! I served these with Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf Meatloaf: Yes, Virginia There is a Great Meatloaf! and it made a really good combo- tho the flavors kinda battled= but still good! Thank you for posting WildlifeDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      These were absolutely FABulous. My friends who said they weren't hungry served themselves extras! I altered these slightly by replacing the horseradish with a 1/2 cup of sour cream and adding about 2/3 cup of chives. WIll definitely have to make them again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Man...these were terrific...I did adjust a few things: I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup, used prepared horseradish and Fat free half-and-half (was all we had). The prepared horseradish is a lot stronger so I only used two tablespoons. The combination was awesome and got rave reviews from all who ate them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      We served these fabulous potatoes w/ grilled filet mignon. YUM! We are huge fans of horseradish. I did not find that the horseradish gave it "kick" but rather gave it a wonderful subtle flavor. I think the heavy cream must temper the heat factor. Don't be afraid to try it if you are worried about heat. I combined both red & Yukon gold potatoes and halved the recipe. Just PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I am not a horseradish fan, so I put just a quarter cup, but my husband and my neighbor (whom I made it for to go with Stout Beef Stew) said they could have handled the whole 1 and 1/4 cups horseradish. Delicious!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Great flavor, but I realized I'm not as huge a horseradish fan as I thought I was. Add a bit at a time of horseradish until you get it to the "bite" that you like. This is definately Not a Kids dish! LOL! I used evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream and I think it worked just fine. I made 1/2 the recipe and just added the evaporated milk to the potatoes to get the consistency I wanted. Would go great with a steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Fabulous mash! This is one of those recipe finds that keep me coming back to zaar pages, searching for more gems. Like some others, I also halved the butter and used milk for cream, and it was very good! We loved the peels in the mash, giving it more healthy texture. And the horseradish was to die for! I admit, I only used 1/3 cup of it, and it could have done with a little more, like 1/2 cup, but 1 1/2 cups most definately is a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      These are good!! I halved the recipe since I was just making it for my family of 4. I also reduced the amount of horseraddish, but they were still so good. I will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      These potatoes are outstanding. I only added 1/4 cup of horseradish and 1/2 stick of butter. Mixed everything with my electric mixer. Fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Tasty potato dish, I didnt use as much horseradish, cream or butter as stated, as I scaled the recipe for 4 servings. The skins on the potatoes made a nice change from white mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2001

      tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oprah's Classic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (3229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 508.7
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    64%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 22.9 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 109.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 919.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites