Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Open Face Tomato Basil Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Open Face Tomato Basil Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      Yum, yum, yum! The sauce is so tasty! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is so good! Would be even better with tomatoes fresh from my own garden, which I will hopefully have later this summer! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This sauce would be good on ANYTHING!. The sandwich was phenomenal but the sauce was beyond 5 stars! Made for ZWT 6 by a fellow Looney Spoon Phoodie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      What a nice way to to make a tomato taste so good; love the combinations of ingrediets. lovely summer treat to add to my recipes; thank you. Made this for ZWT6. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Simply delicious, and healthy-perfect for us! I made this based on Chef#284180's recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 Game and am glad I made. I suppose if you wanted to "dude" it up, you could add feta to the basil mixture or top the tomato slice with parmesan or some other cheese, but not necessary for us. Served this for lunch to son and family and enjoyed it just as it is. Thanks Enjolinfam for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      A wonderful easy, healthy, delicious recipe! The only change I made was to sprinkle more parmesan on top before broiling...and then a bit more once it came out of the oven. After we finished this, I realized a little dried oregano sprinkled on top would've given a little visual interest since the pesto was completely hidden by the tomatoes. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I used dark German bread and enjoyed this! I used cherry tomatoes from the garden too. Thanks for a yummy snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Alas, I believe today was my last basil harvest of the season (cool weather has nipped my plant already!)--and this recipe was as fine a use as I can think of for the occasion! What a pleasant lunch; it reminded me of bruschetta but had the feel of a sandwich. This is especially true as I used wheat bread instead of english muffins. DH suggested that we sprinkle the tops with parmesan before the second broiling, and he was right on the money with that one. I had reservations about the tanginess of the yogurt, but it blended beautifully. I probably used double the amount of garlic called for, but that was just out of personal preference. Thanks for posting! Made for Zaar Tag 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Open Face Tomato Basil Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.1
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    31%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 1.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes