Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Opal's Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Opal's Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    132 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 132

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2011

      Great! I did halve the ground cloves, but other than that, made it as directed. I also had to bake quite a bit longer than stated. My knife never did come out clean, but after 25 extra minutes, I decided that would be enough! Everyone loved it!

      I made it again yesterday. I was tempted to crisp up the crust by cooking it a bit first because the first ones I made, the crust (underneath) was a bit soggy. I decided to follow the directions on the Libby's can for baking. (bake at 425 far. for 15 minutes, and at 350 far. for between 40 and 50 minutes)
      Following this recipe, but Libby's baking instructions turned out much better for me.

      Update, 2011: I still use the Libby's baking instructions, but other than that, follow this recipe to the letter. People BEG for this pie! It is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      This pie is excellent - perfect blend of spice/sweet/creaminess. The only change I made was to bake it at 425 degrees for 15 minutes then lower the temperature to 350 degrees and bake for another 50 minutes. At first I was skeptical about the amount of cinnamon, but after eating a piece I found the amount to be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Every year when Thanksgiving rolls around, there is bound to be the ceremonial pumpkin pie on my family's table. Most years, I pass over it without a second thought. This year, I couldn't go home for the holiday, so I held Thanksgiving and decided to try my hand at a pumpkin pie. I'm very glad I did and used this recipe. This was, hands down, the best pumpkin pie I've ever had. It wasn't that lackluster, soggy mush I've long associated with the "traditional" pumpkin pie recipe. Oh no, my friends, this is a pumpkin pie sent down through the ages by gods. Imagine a creamy, custard-y party in your mouth dancing to the sound of a choir of angels. It was so good that when I was done, I considered breaking my non-smoking streak. Opal, you are awesome for sharing this. Where ever you are now, thank you for making me a pumpkin pie convert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I halved the recipe to bake only one pie, but this recipe yielded a large amount of filling that worked for two pies. I tried with 2 different type of crusts and liked the graham cracker one much more. The first time I followed the recipe to a T and thought the filling was too sweet and mushy. The second time I added 4 oz cream cheese (for half recipe) to harden the filling a bit and reduced white sugar by 2 tbsp. I also increased the spice: 1/4 tsp of clove and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. However, I didn't reduce salt and the filling turn a little too salty (there must be some salt in the cream cheese too: I used Lucern). So next time I will try reducing salt to 3/8 tsp.

      Note-to-self: I tried the original pie again 4 days after baking it (original recipe 1/8 nutmeg, no cream cheese) and liked it much better. The filling has firmed up in the fridge and the taste more mellow (still a teeny bit too sweet).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I have been making this same pie for at least 30 years. The recipe is the same one I have, word for word but from a different source and different title. The recipe I have is called "Old fashioned Pumpkin Pie". It came from a paperback cookbook my mom got when I was in grade school (I'm now 58 years old). She could never remember where she got the cookbook and it has since pretty much fallen apart from age. The cover and some pages gone. I can remember that the cover was either blue or purple and the title was "The Manhattan Cookbook". There was no colorful story along with it about being served at the white house, but the recipe and ingredients are word for word the same as here. So I can attest that this is an excellent pumpkin pie, no matter where it came from. Just thought it was interesting that we had the same recipe from different places.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      So very, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Wow, I loved this pie! No complaints from my family, either. The richness of the pie and its assertive spicing really make it different from other pumpkin pies--I made sure to use the freshest spices for maximum pungency. I made this for Thanksgiving and will probably make it at Xmas too. Thanks for sharing! Hope you like my photos, too.

      UPDATE, 2012: I first reviewed/baked in 2005 and I STILL love this pie. I make more converts every Thanksgiving. :) I parbake the crust, add a dash of nutmeg, and sometimes I reduce the amount of sugar but otherwise it's 100% perfect to me. Custardy, creamy, pumpkin-y goodness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Add my whole family to the list of people who love this pie! My sister made this for our Canadian Thanksgiving dinner and it was fantastic! She used real pumpkin and made a delicious deep-dish pie. So so good! Because it is deep-dish it did take longer to cook so make sure to protect the crust if you are trying this. Again, DELICIOUS!!! Thanks CarrolJ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      A great traditional pie! The spice combination gives it a nice depth of flavor. After making it a few times, the only change I would suggest is reducing the sugar slightly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      This was great! Everyone commented on how flavorful it was!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Holy cow! This pie is amazing! This was my second time making pumkin pie. The first reciepe was good but doesnt even compare to this one! I had 2 pumpkins that i had bought at the farmers market and with the two pumpkins it made just enough for this reciepe. I bought the pillsbury frozen pie crusts and the filling was enough to make 4 pies! Im so excited. My husband and i already ate half of one and i am going to bring one to my sister in laws for thanksgiving and give one to my mom and sister as well. Thank you so much for sharing this yummy reciepe! I will keep t in a safe place and it will definitly be my pumpkin pie reciepe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Delicious pumpkin pie! I cut recipe in 1/2 to make 1 pie and it came out great. I added some nutmeg and a little extra cinnamon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This is officially the 3rd year I will be making this pumpkin pie recipe & no one wants anything else...there are never any leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I made this the day before Thanksgiving for the first time. I will only use this recipe from now on. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I hate pumpkin pie... NOT THIS ONE! When the boyfriend wanted one I made this ... first time making pumpkin pie (let alone eating it) and LOVING IT. One tip: I made it with a homemade graham cracker crust... not such a great idea. The crust didn't turn out so well with this I'm assuming because of cooking time/temp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Made this with Pumpkin Puree (by JellyBean) on Recipezaar and it came out GREAT! Also made this with canned Libby's Pumpkin and sent a bunch of these to work with DH ... they were GREAT as well! I added about 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg to this recipe but other then that didn't change a thing. GREAT Recipe! Thanks so much! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I was skeptical but I gave the recipe a try. It was a breeze to make but I did not have any 8 inch pie tins. I had a 9 inch very deep dish pie tin. It filled right to the top. I was afraid it would bubble over and there would be a mess. Nope! I baked the pie for 90 minutes and it looked beautiful. The taste was fantastic. I'm not very fond of a real dense pumpkin pie.The taste was super yummy. I'm picky with pies. I'm now looking for another 9 inch deep dish tin.This recipe is a keeper! I did cut the cinnamon down a tad and used splenda. Half sugar/half splenda blend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Tried this recipe last year and will never go back to the "recipe on the back of the can." It doesn't sound like it would be drastically different from the usual, but trust me, the extra fat from the heavy cream gives this pie a decadent "mouth feel." It's something to be thankful for!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Very good and not overly sweet tasting despite having so much sugar in it. What I liked was that it cooked up perfectly. I've had pumpkin pies come out too soft in the middle but not this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      It was wonderful, the spices were right on. However, I felt it was just a bit too sweet, like half a cup of sugar too much. I forgot to scald my milk and used my own pumpkin puree so I had to cook mine an additional 10 minutes. This will be my "go-to" from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Opal's Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.1
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    43%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 114.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 491.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 42.6 g
    170%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites