Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oooh La La! French Savoury Ham, Cheese and Olive Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oooh La La! French Savoury Ham, Cheese and Olive Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2012

      Very, very tasty. Gruyere is always the magic ingredient. But it was seriously an investment to make this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I made this today..I found gruyere cheese at the deli for $18.00 a lb. So, needless to say I substituted. I used a mix of swiss and marble jack. I also used green olives and added (1/2 tsp salt ,big mistake,green olives were salty enough).and 1/4 tsp pepper. I greased a 11x5 pan very well (should of pam sprayed)and (it still stuck)used my conv oven,took 40 minuites to bake..No one liked this,thought it was too salty,had too much olives and ham..And it stuck horribley,I would recommend pam for sure...I did not give this a rating as everyones taste are different..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I have used this recipe several times now, making substitutions depending on what I had on hand as far as cheese and olives, and even the wines. Each time it has been an out of the ballpark hit. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Made for a buffet lunch for 20 and it was very successful - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Definitely a hit; so easy, yet so delicious! I used a mixture of Emmental and German Bergkase, black olives, and mixed ham with some remains of German sausage (you know where I am based now). Jerez instead of port, white wine as required - beautiful! Will become a favourite. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This was really delicious - but mine was a LOT chunkier that the one in the picture. I used kalamat olives (I think they have better flavor) and a sharp Irish cheddar since we're not fans of swiss-type cheeses. I made it for a 4th of July party & everyone loved it! Next time I might cut back the amount of ham, olives & cheese so it can be sliced more easily - maybe for sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Never made anything like this before. I cheated heaps by buying pre-diced ham and sliced black olives. Chopped my own cheese though. Could not believe how simple it was. Loaf tin not big enough so put balance in a ring cake tin with result can get mini-slices. Absolutey delicious - will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Wonderful way to use leftover ham in a very creative way. A savory tasting bread that explodes with a taste of olives and ham. Goes great with wine. Surprisingly moist bread that slices well once it's cooled. Thank you French Tart for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Tasty and reminded me of South African Picnic Bread posted by Chef Zee. The port and cheese really make for a lovely, deep and rich flavor. I made it exactly as written using gruyere and black olives. It could benefit from some fresh herbs and next time I will try that. The recipe made two loaves about 3" x 6" each. I did not need 50 minutes -- they were ready at about 44 minutes in my electric oven. Good cold but better warmed up just a bit. Thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      DELICIOUS!!! I just had to try this-what interesting ingredients-and I was so pleased-great instructions and so easy for a 'wow' bread. I used Texas white wine and port (I hope that isn't some faux pas), green olives, and gruyere; served as suggested as an appetizer. Another great recipe, French Tart-thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      I made this substituting Norwegian Jarlsburg cheese for the Emmenthaler. Also used Tabasco sauce flavored olives. My partner, who usually turns his nose up at anything like this ate about 4 sllices when it was still warm. Will make again as so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Not enough stars, this is wonderful and so easy to do and instructions are ver clear. Thank you so much, so glad I found you, will research your recipes and try more I am sure. Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Love the name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Such a great recipe! Not only is this bread delicious but the instructions were very helpful, especially oven temps in C. and F. and the measurements in oz. along with the amounts in cups. Thank you for sharing this savory, easy to follow recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oooh La La! French Savoury Ham, Cheese and Olive Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.6
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    56%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 118.8 mg
    39%
    Sodium 951.8 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites