Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ooey Gooey Butter Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ooey Gooey Butter Cake

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe that I have used for years. It is also called Smash Cake. Any kind of cake mix can be used. The preference of my family and friends is butter recipe cake mix. The recipe I use says to combine cream cheese, eggs and powdered sugar and beat on medium speed for 5 minutes. I found if I under beat, the topping does not come out right. Very easy to make and great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      First I made this recipe as is (with absolutely NO changes) because I hate when people rate a recipe after they make their own changes. Your not rating the submitters recipe, your rating something you made up yourself! With that said, it is very good but way too sweet but, I made it again a second time, accept this time I only added 10 ounces of powdered sugar and it came out PERFECT! Not too sweet but still sweet enough to satisfy nearly anyone's sweet tooth. If you've made this recipe and found it too sweet, I recommend you try it again with less powdered sugar, you will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Wow, what a wonderful, rich dessert! I read the reviews and found that some people think it's far too rich and sweet, but I'm thinking when something is called "butter cake" it's pretty much understood that it's going to be rich -- and with a box of powered sugar, well, there's another clue (that it might be pretty sweet). This was a HUGE hit with my family and friends, thanks so much for posting this recipe!! I look forward to getting brave and trying different things with it -- seems like it is also a good base recipe to springboard off of as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      I would rate this much higher IF whoever posted this recipe remembered that this was originally a SOUTHERN LOUISIANA concoction (Thank me for making my NOLA heritage proud!). The reason you guys are overly sweetened is because you're missing a key ingredient - Pecans! Half a cup to a cup of pecans (pieces or chopped) mixed into the bottom layer, it adds just a little saltiness and texture and cuts the sweetness just enough. I've tried experimenting with this recipe over the years, chocolate chips, lemon, pumpkin, devils food cake...they all turned out well and are liked, but the original ("SOUTHERN PECAN GOOEY BUTTERCAKE", not ooey gooey) recipe is by far the best- Whats always been so cool about this treat is that most of the ingredients are usually in my house already so I can whip um up whenever someone has a craving or give them as presents at Christmas and I've even sold them for $3 a square! Classic PECAN makes it the winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      This cake is beyond delicious. I can understand how it will not be for everyone, though. It is pretty sweet, definitely buttery. It is ooey and gooey. My daughter (6 years old) did not enjoy it. My husband liked it. I will make it again, but next time I will cut the sugar down a few ounces. I'm going to try lemon flavored and strawberry... Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Try different flavor cake mixes, my fav is strawberry & my husband loves it with chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      This is delicious - BUT I agree with using only half the sugar for the topping. I don't ever catch myself saying something is too sweet but this is a bit too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Great recipe, very easy to make. My mom has been making this for years and its always a hit with everyone. This is a good cake to take to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      It was birthday treat day at the office. Shop or bake? Since I pick my grandaughter up after work I needed something that didn't take a lot of time so I could make it up after her daddy picked her up. This looked do-able. It went up against 3 other cakes, cream puffs and assorted cookies, chips & salsa, etc. By mid-morning, my cake was gone. And, so were the copies of the recipe. Everything else had left over for the next day. I'm so glad I took a chance and didn't cop out for a stop at Krispy Kreme's on the way in to the office. Everyone else was more than pleased too. This will be a regular at our house (and the office).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I absolutely love this recipe! This same recipe was passed on to my by my aunt and my mom and I have been making it for years. It's so easy and tasty! I have to really watch it when this recipe is in the oven because it's easy to over bake it and then it just doesn't taste the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Oh goodness! Very rich and delish. This so easy to make and tastes great! It did not last long. I am going to use a lemon cake mix next and will update this with comments on that! Edit for lemon cake mix. It was really good, but I like the yellow cake mix better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This is sooooooooo good! My husband hates desserts generally ate a pretty big piece before saying it was too sweet lol So that says a lot that he ate that much! I actually found this exact same recipe on the cream cheese box (Kroger brand). I wanted something for dessert and this was what I picked! Amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Hurry! Hurry! We need to eat this before they come home...too good to share. I've been making this for nearly 25 years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This was really good. Very gooey and yummy. I will be making again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      When I have the girls to my house for coffeetime this is the recipe they request most often. I think the reason is because it's "SO DARN GOOD" thats why!!!!!! And it just cant get any easier to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      We really love this. We just call it Ooey Gooey. Before friends come over they always say, "Make sure you make Ooey Gooey!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Mys sister brought this to my parents house over Thanksgiving weekend. At first I thought what a funny looking cake but it is actually more like a bar cookie. A very very moist melt in your mouth bar cookie. If you like cream cheese baked goods then you'll probably love this too. *My 12 year-old made this recipe by herself with a little guidance when using the hand mixer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      The reviews of this sounded fantastic. The taste was good, but the cake layer was at least 2 times thicker than the creamy layer. I think that maybe next time I'll double the amount of cream cheese so that the cake layer isn't so overpowering. I loved the sweet topping & wanted more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      This has been one of my favorite desserts since my mom first made it when I was a child. I used this recipe recently, and the cake came out perfect-- just like mom's! It is super easy, and the taste is wonderful (and VERY sweet). It has a "melts-in-your-mouth" filling, and a yummy, chewy crust. My husband agrees.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This is a great recipe. The only thing I would do different is add less powered sugar and directed to. It is really sweet but divine at the same time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ooey Gooey Butter Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.5
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    37%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 88.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 426.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.8 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 56.0 g
    224%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes