46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an awesome recipe that I have used for years. It is also called Smash Cake. Any kind of cake mix can be used. The preference of my family and friends is butter recipe cake mix. The recipe I use says to combine cream cheese, eggs and powdered sugar and beat on medium speed for 5 minutes. I found if I under beat, the topping does not come out right. Very easy to make and great taste.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a242379 January 27, 2008

First I made this recipe as is (with absolutely NO changes) because I hate when people rate a recipe after they make their own changes. Your not rating the submitters recipe, your rating something you made up yourself! With that said, it is very good but way too sweet but, I made it again a second time, accept this time I only added 10 ounces of powdered sugar and it came out PERFECT! Not too sweet but still sweet enough to satisfy nearly anyone's sweet tooth. If you've made this recipe and found it too sweet, I recommend you try it again with less powdered sugar, you will love it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tstephens28 January 27, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful, rich dessert! I read the reviews and found that some people think it's far too rich and sweet, but I'm thinking when something is called "butter cake" it's pretty much understood that it's going to be rich -- and with a box of powered sugar, well, there's another clue (that it might be pretty sweet). This was a HUGE hit with my family and friends, thanks so much for posting this recipe!! I look forward to getting brave and trying different things with it -- seems like it is also a good base recipe to springboard off of as well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennPoyer June 22, 2010

I would rate this much higher IF whoever posted this recipe remembered that this was originally a SOUTHERN LOUISIANA concoction (Thank me for making my NOLA heritage proud!). The reason you guys are overly sweetened is because you're missing a key ingredient - Pecans! Half a cup to a cup of pecans (pieces or chopped) mixed into the bottom layer, it adds just a little saltiness and texture and cuts the sweetness just enough. I've tried experimenting with this recipe over the years, chocolate chips, lemon, pumpkin, devils food cake...they all turned out well and are liked, but the original ("SOUTHERN PECAN GOOEY BUTTERCAKE", not ooey gooey) recipe is by far the best- Whats always been so cool about this treat is that most of the ingredients are usually in my house already so I can whip um up whenever someone has a craving or give them as presents at Christmas and I've even sold them for $3 a square! Classic PECAN makes it the winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcak1980 November 15, 2013

This cake is beyond delicious. I can understand how it will not be for everyone, though. It is pretty sweet, definitely buttery. It is ooey and gooey. My daughter (6 years old) did not enjoy it. My husband liked it. I will make it again, but next time I will cut the sugar down a few ounces. I'm going to try lemon flavored and strawberry... Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LexiRox November 06, 2010

Try different flavor cake mixes, my fav is strawberry & my husband loves it with chocolate.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kurlylou September 08, 2009

This is delicious - BUT I agree with using only half the sugar for the topping. I don't ever catch myself saying something is too sweet but this is a bit too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannabechefinwr July 24, 2009

Great recipe, very easy to make. My mom has been making this for years and its always a hit with everyone. This is a good cake to take to a potluck.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds May 17, 2008

It was birthday treat day at the office. Shop or bake? Since I pick my grandaughter up after work I needed something that didn't take a lot of time so I could make it up after her daddy picked her up. This looked do-able. It went up against 3 other cakes, cream puffs and assorted cookies, chips & salsa, etc. By mid-morning, my cake was gone. And, so were the copies of the recipe. Everything else had left over for the next day. I'm so glad I took a chance and didn't cop out for a stop at Krispy Kreme's on the way in to the office. Everyone else was more than pleased too. This will be a regular at our house (and the office).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MRS.B January 17, 2004

I absolutely love this recipe! This same recipe was passed on to my by my aunt and my mom and I have been making it for years. It's so easy and tasty! I have to really watch it when this recipe is in the oven because it's easy to over bake it and then it just doesn't taste the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quirkycook January 28, 2010
Ooey Gooey Butter Cake