35 Reviews

Delicious! This recipe is so forgiving and versatile! I've made it at least 6 times now, always decreasing the white and brown sugars to 1/2 cup each due to other reviews. Today I made it substituting vegan mayonnaise & water for the soy milk & vinegar because I didn't have the soy milk. Almond and rice milk work just as well, BTW. Also used 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup vegan margarine today to see how the coconut oil would work. It's been delicious every time, and tonight was no different! My milk & egg allergic son loves this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli703 June 25, 2015

This was so easy and tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silkster November 17, 2013

It is indeed a very good recipe! Versatile too, you can sub different sweeteners, decrease them, use whole grain flour, etc. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nature December 30, 2012

good recipe. i used whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup TOTAL of raw sugar and added chia seeds and flax seeds. we also threw in some chopped strawberries, at the suggestion of my three year old and made this in muffins. (bake time about 25 minutes for muffins).
excellent recipe - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey May 25, 2012

This is excellent! I also did the 1/2 cup of each sugar and it turned out to be just the right amount of sweetness. This is now my new stand-by banana bread recipe. Thank you so much for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bugeah May 23, 2011

Amazing! This is the best banana bread ever!!! :) Like other posters, I used only 1/2 cup of both sugars and I think that was plenty. We will be making this frequently and sharing with others. Thank you so much!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda February 26, 2011

Like other reviewers, I used 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce, and only 1/2 cup white and brown sugar. Turned out AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegan chef lena November 22, 2010

This is wonderful!!! My son is allergic to dairy and eggs and we make mostly vegan things for him because it's safe. A lot of the recipes just don't taste very well, but not this one. It tastes like the regular banana bread recipes that call for eggs!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arz August 27, 2010

Like a previous reviewer I cut out the brown sugar and subbed half the margarine with applesauce. I think it was still too sweet, I'll probably cut the sugar in half again next time I make it. Very moist though with the applesauce, much better than our usual good-but-dry loaf. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS August 12, 2010

Delicious! I made a couple of changes. I cut the sugar in half (eliminating the brown sugar) and used 1/4c margarine and 1/4c applesauce instead of the full margarine. Walnuts were a great addition too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim G. April 05, 2010
Only One Vegan Banana Bread