Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onions in Red Sauce for Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onions in Red Sauce for Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2012

      Growing up in Southern Ohio, we always eat our hot dogs with meat sauce. I had never heard of anything like this, but it sounded good, so I thought I'd try it. I'm glad I did! It was a nice change from the usual and lower calorie, too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I made the recipe with one onion. So it took less time to cook. It's so yummy. I tried in hot dogs and it was great. Thanks Rita :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Great recipe, Rita. I like this better than Sabrette's onions. I made a few minor adjustments. When sauteeing the onions I also added some tri-color mini sweet peppers. My garlic was hickory smoked in my stove top smoker, and I added a few extra cloves (we are garlic-holics). I also added about a tablespoon of Steen's cane syrup to offset the vinegar. Salt was not needed at all. The result was a sweet/sour oniony smoky relish that I put on bacon-wrapped dawgs that were cooked in the rotisserie. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This was a great relish which we enjoyed so much. I do recommend that you put in only two tablespoons of vinegar as I did as that worked out great unless you prefer a more acidic taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Let me tell you what I did with this recipe. I made it exactly like the recipe, but quadrupled it for a potluck. Then I sliced up hotdogs lenthwise, and boiled them until they curled up-added them to the onion mixture in my crockpot, and served them as octopus legs and seaweed (the ketchup made it look like it was a bloody mess) on a bun for a halloween potluck. They looked really, really gross, but they were really, really good....I can't say anybody asked me for the recipe, but they were certainly an attention getter and I didn't take any leftovers home...lol...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Great! Full of flavor and spicy. Apart from omitting the salt (it did not need any) I made it exactly as stated. Have no idea if this is supposed to be eaten warm or cold (like a relish) but both ways are good. Will certainly make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      Wonderful topping for a hot dog! I really wasn't sure what the reaction would be from my non-ketchup eating DH, but after the first hot dog he doubled up on the onions for the second one. I think the vinegar and paprika cut the ketchup flavour. I didn't simmer the onions as long...they were drier than your photo appears. Who cares? It tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      Easy to make. Tasted better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      yummy! I put the hot dogs in the pan while the sauce was simmering and they came out perfect.I took scancans advice and used 2 tablespoons vinegar and served everything on top of orzo.Will be serving this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onions in Red Sauce for Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 35.9
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    47%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 61.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites