13 Reviews

For starters, I didn't even have to make one adjustment to the dough as it bobbed around in the bread machine. This recipe is the best ever from perfect flavor to texture to golden-brown oniony crust for sirloin burgers; and I got rave reviews and big hugs from my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Val805 February 03, 2014

These were phenomenal. I have made this one with the breadmaker and once with the kitchenaid mixer and it turned out great both times. I didn't find the dough to be sticky although I used the full 3 and a quarter cups of flour. These are definitely the new sandwich-standard in the house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stooch June 28, 2011

This dough is wonderful and easy. I made it for cabbage burgers and every one loved it and I have a house full of 3 year olds...wonderful recipe will pass it on to friends and family!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy W. July 15, 2014

Thanks for the recipe. These came out great, even after modifying it by cutting the salt in half, to 1/2 tsp, and using unsalted butter. May try adding more Onion Powder or maybe Garlic Powder next time. The crumb was moist and flaky like buns I buy in the store. I posted a picture above.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoasterFanFL May 14, 2013

These were very good but the dough seemed a little difficult to work with. I added additional flour and that helped some. The flavor was perfect with the use of additional onion powder. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT #6 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ June 20, 2010

These were pretty good. The dough was VERY sticky and I took another reviewers suggestion and added more flour.It helped some but it was still very sticky. I made buns,and they cooked up HARD on the outside. I will add more onion, maybe onion powder,too, next time. Made for ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 20, 2010

These were pretty good, but they were actually a little too light for me. I also think they could use more onion. The crust is excellent, and they have a nice yeasty flavor. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 06, 2010

I chopped one small onion and it was one cup, so I used all that into my bread, didnt save any for the tops. I also used all milk instead of the water since I didn't have powdered milk in the house. Made 8 large hamburger buns with the recipe, they were very good in texture, but could still use more onion, if you want to call them onion rolls. I will make again for hamburgers and sloppy joe recipes. I think they also will make a good roasted pork sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy February 03, 2009

I made these to go with your Hoisin Chicken Sandwiches! I made the dough in my bread machine. My dough was very sticky so I added a bit of flour and that helped. My rolls baked up great and looked like the photos. Thanks California Jan, for another delicious recipe. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado August 08, 2008

Mmm, mmm! My husband and I really enjoyed these. I was making Greek-Style Turkey Burgers and didn't want to go out for buns so I tried this recipe. They are just as good as the store bought if not better! I didn't have dry milk powder so I substituted milk for the extra 2 tablespoons of water and let them raise on the counter until doubled becuase my oven was being used. They made the house smell wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiegirl June 25, 2008
Onion Rolls, Bread Machine