Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion Roll Appetizers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Roll Appetizers

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2004

      I am rating this recipe again because the first time I forgot to put the stars on it ( and it deserves AT Least 5 stars)! I made this, along with other appetizers for Christmas Day. My DH and SIL are huge onion fans which is why I decided to try them. They were delicious! I was debating whether to make the whole recipe or halve it because of all the other food we were having but I figured I could always warm up any leftover later. There were none left! Thank you leilani for a great appetizer recipe! They were so easy to make. BTW-my sil asked me for the recipe-several times-until I finally got it to her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Brought them to a party and they were really popular! I practically used up all the cheeses I have left in the fridge i.e. 1/4 pack of cream cheese, 1/2 pack parmesan cheese, and 1/2 monteray jack cheese. Added a dash of chilli powder, salt and red pepper flakes but still felt something was lacking.. until I added a few dashes of HP sauce! :) Rolled it up with some leftover ham slices and baked it for 10 min in the oven. Absolutely yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      I halved the recipe and only used one onion. Delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      These were great! So yummy! I made recipe exactly - the only thing is that it doesn't say how many tortillas in "1 package" - mine had 8, but I only had enough mixture for 6. My mixture came out very gooey due to the Swiss cheese, so here's a hint for spreading and rolling - I found if I spread it from the middle down on one half of the tortilla, trying to go right to the edges, that the mixture would squeeze/ooze to the ends of the tortilla - otherwise if you spread it all over, it would squish out the open side. Ok, now about the taste - I used regular onions, I don't think sweet would work in this recipe, and if you don't like Swiss cheese, I would skip this recipe. The flavors are subtle - it's a shame that so many people need to have their taste buds burned off in order to appreciate flavor anymore, this is not meant to be zesty, piquant dish - but to each his own. I loved them as is, but could see adding some bacon or ham to have a "quiche Lorraine" type flavor. Also, after making them, I was thinking that it might be easier to mix room-temperature cream cheese with the onions and Swiss cheese in a mixer until smooth, then spread that - since you are baking them later, the cheese is going to melt then anyway? I may try that the next time I make these as there will be a next time - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      These were great and had so much flavor. I used vidalia onions and instead of swiss, no one in the family likes it, I used colby- jack mixed. I will definitely make these again, besides the great flavor, they are so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      What a FIND! I made this a couple of weeks ago, froze the roll-ups before slicing. Then took them out just before cooking, and sliced them right up and baked. Delicious. My family has already requested I make them again for Christmas. Then, I will double everything so we have plenty to keep in the freezer for next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      These were a huge hit, although I did make some modifications. I used 8 oz cream cheese and 8 oz shredded swiss instead of 6 oz of each - no use in putting the extra 2 ounces back in the fridge. Also, since some reviewers said this seemed to be missing something, I added some cooked and crumbled bacon (probably about 1/2 pound). Swiss cheese, onion and bacon - how can that be bad?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Hello Leilani, we made these with vegetable cream cheese & swiss lorraine instead. Of course, I had to have my onions & I caramelized them with a pinch of crushed red peppers stirred in with the cream cheese! Thank you ever so much for a recipe that's a keeper, Diane :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      What an easy and fantastic appetizer. I had a cream cheese, mozzarella mixture that included basil that I had left over from another recipe. I used that in these and it was fantastic. The sweet onions really make it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Made for a party and they went fast. Will make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I made these for our football party and they are really good. They really compliment the cream cheese/swiss cheese in them. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This appetizer is delicious! I used light cream cheese and light Swiss cheese to lessen the calorie count. It is great to make ahead of time and leave in the fridge until ready to use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Fabulous! I cut them a bit thinner than 1 inch just to make them go farther. I added chopped dried beef once, too, and it really added some good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      5 star all the way - my friends raved over them and took away the recipe as well. I sprinkled a little hot paprika on them before rolling and served them with home made chutney. I am testing one for freezing& will add to this review when I bake it. This is a definite do again and again Thanks for posting leilani

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      These were very good but the group I served them to did not give me the impression that they were a 'Wow!' I ate more than my fair share of them but there were still many left over. I would try them again for a different crowd and see how they go over. One recommendation: Just before baking them, I sprinkled shredded Swiss on the top of them. That gave them a gooey top and a crispy golden bottom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      These were so good. I had several other items on my appetizer table, but these disappeared. Many people asked for the recipe. I am not a fan of swiss cheese, but the flavors meld so wonderfully. I wouldn't change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      So good and so easy! These were a big hit at last night's party. I did make some changes: First I used lavash bread. If your market sells it, you should use it. Lavash is a rectangle, so it works better in this type of recipe and it is more flavorful and soft than tortillas.<br/>I also made cheese substitutions. Although these were made to decrease lactose content, I really liked them and will use them: I made one batch by simply substituting shredded colby-jack for swiss. The other batch was made by cutting the cream cheese in half and using goat cheese. Both of these versions were hits.<br/>The last change was that I froze them for a few hours rather than chilling in the fridgr. I also sprinkled a bit of cheese on the top of one batch, to distinguish which ones were filled with the colby. That was a nice improvement. This is going to be a go to recipe for me, due to its simplicity and taste! Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Made this for a party last night and it was fabulous! I cooked the onions until they were nice and golden brown and I used reduced fat cream cheese. I think they taste just a good cold because I munched a couple before i put them in the oven. Yum! I'm adding this one to my party foods list! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I made these again and took to Bunko- Some of the comments included "To Die For" Much better this time for me. -----I used some of the onion from French Onion Soup and proceeded with this recipe. I did over cook these but the flavor is great. Be sure to grease your pan (I used tin foil and didn't grease it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Wasn't a big hit with the crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Roll Appetizers

    Serving Size: 1 (847 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    75%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 9.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 27.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    burrito-size flour tortillas

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes