46 Reviews

AWESOME! I made this last night for dinner. I used regular small brown lentils and brown rice--which, unfortunately, took longer to cook and still wasn't quite done. A word to the wise: you may need a bit of broth or water if you use heavy-duty brown rice in this recipe. But it was great! I also added about 6 cloves of garlic because I'm a garlic freak. This was wonderful--I'll make it very often. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock February 06, 2003

Absolutely delicious--a great balance of flavors and textures!! I made only one small change to this recipe: I used pearl barley in place of the (white) rice. To compensate for the longer cooking time of the pearl barley, I cooked it separately (adding more water as needed, and until it was nearly done)--before adding it to the lentils and other ingredients. The results were wonderful! The subtle flavor of the pearl barley worked well, without being overpowering. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks so much jessi-ryan!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal September 29, 2008

Yummy! This was my first time making anything with lentils in it, and I'm so pleased with the results! The lentils ended up a bit firmer than I think I would have liked, so next time I think I'll let them cook 5 minutes longer. I think they'd also be good rolled up with lettuce, tomato, and sour cream in a flour tortilla and eaten burrito-style. It's even better the next day---I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltoRose August 20, 2008

Tasted great. I cooked a bit different as folks around here don't like any crunch whatsoever to their lentils - I soaked for a few hours, popped in the pot of water and then did my onions.. the seasonings in this are great. Putting it over basmati tonight. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesikae April 11, 2012

Loved it. Easy, tasty and cheap- just the way I like it. I used long grain brown rice and therefore increased the water by a bit and cooked it longer. I think it changed the texture a bit, but great none the less. Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker May 17, 2010

Also added cubed steamed sweet potato and cinnamon. Very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny March 01, 2010

I found this recipe while trying to use up some random ingredients in my cupboard, and it was perfect for using the almost empty bags of green lentils and jasmine rice. I also wanted to use up a small amount of unsweetened coconut and some pepitas, so I toasted those and added with the caramelized onions. (I also used coconut oil to cook the onions.) A little random but it worked out well. This is wonderful comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thesocietyfor.design December 14, 2008

Fabulous, quick, and easy! This is definitely something that's going to be a staple in our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parvulissula October 15, 2008

This was awesome! The only things i changed was the preparation. It takes about 45 minutes to properly cook brown rice, so I did that separate from the lentils, and added some oregano to it. Tossed the rice and lentils together with just a bit of olive oil when they were done and stuffed it in a pita with lettuce and tomatoes and topped with the suggested (vegan) sour cream and crispy onions. Next time I'm going to double the seasonings though, it was a bit too light.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tendollarwine June 11, 2008

I am truly confused after reading so many great reviews that this dish came out so badly for me. I must have done something horribly wrong because the nicest thing I could say about it is tasteless sticky mush :( I am so sorry because I tried to follow every step exactly but it was not good at all! You've got so many great reviews though so maybe it's just my family. Sorry!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre May 27, 2008
Onion Lentils and Rice