17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars and I don't even like onions! DH and I decided to try Toad in the Hole. That was our first time eating English food. This gravy was the only reason we could eat it. I used thyme and sage. Excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub February 23, 2010

This was an exceptionally easy recipe to make. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used the drippings from the steak that I had cooked and omitted the worcestershire sauce. It was yummy. I also sauteed the onions in one half of the pan (it was a big pan) while the steak was cooking which gave the gravy an onion-beefy flavor. I gave it 4 stars because I am married to the pickiest man in the world, he is the epitome of a kid, and rarely likes new things, but I get tired of cooking the same things. I may come back and increase the rating.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl October 12, 2003

I made this to go with French Tarts - Toad in the Hole and it complemented the dish brilliantly. We used Benecol spread instead of vegetable oil but we always make this switch. Very nice indeed, and this will be the gravy recipe I use from now on. Cheers :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully August 14, 2011

I too made this to go with French Tart's Toad-In-The-Hole recipe (seems to be a very popular dish). The gravy was very easy to make and was perfect for this traditional English dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 November 17, 2012

Good gravy...and simple to make. I did need to add some pepper and more herbs. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 12, 2012

Served this with French Tart's Toad in the Hole and mash to celebrate the opening of the London Olympics. I used beef broth instead of chicken. This was easy, delicious, and complemented the dish. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC July 27, 2012

This recipe was spot on! I was making Bangers and mash and decided to try a new onion gravy - so glad I did. I ran out of chicken broth and used 4 oz of beef stock to make up the liquid. Made as directed using Herbs de Provence. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned August 25, 2011

I have always had a hard time making gravy but this recipe is simple to make and so delicious. Sauteed onion over medium high heat for about 20 minutes before they browned. Left out the herb mix and the gravy still had great flavor. Served over Meat Loaf and noodles. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 February 19, 2010

Super gravy recipe. I meant to pick up a pack of instant gravy at the supermarket (thinking you could only make gravy from the drippings of a roast) and forgot. I found this recipe and tried it. Perfect. I used a beef stock cube, to better suit the dish I'm serving the gravy with but otherwise followed the directions. It's rich and delicious and I'll forget about gravy packets from here on in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville February 15, 2010

Had this tonight with French Tart's Traditional British Toad-In-The-Hole, and it's wonderful! My mixed herbs of choice were sage, thyme, and tarragon. I've made a few Miller recipes, and they've been equally good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie November 18, 2009
Onion Gravy