Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion Dip from Scratch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Dip from Scratch

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      This stuff is simply great! Made this for thanksgiving and everyone raved. I noticed quite a few people commenting about the dip being too light in color, so I cooked my onions to the point of WAY caramelized (took about an hour, cooking them slowly); they were very dark and sort of sticky, but not burned. I also added about a half a teaspoon of worscestershire to mine. The dip turned out a nice, golden color from this. Am making this again for Christmas and probably for many holidays to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I have made this many times now with a few adaptions. I don't like sour cream and am trying to eat healthier. I use greek yogurt in place of the mayo and sour cream. Hubby cannot tell the difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      The key to this dip is patience. If you taste it right after making it, you'll think it's just ok. Wait a day and it's a little better. Even better the next day...and so on. The only negative about this dip is that it doesn't really look like onion dip as I know it. It's sooooo white - a couple of people thought it was cottage cheese! Someone suggested adding a little powdered beef bouillion to it to "brown" it up a little. In the end, this tastes great! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This is a yummy dip. I made this twice. Once as directed, then again with dried minced onions and dried chives which I reconstitued before adding (just because I was in a hurry and didn't want to take the time to caramelize the onions) Both ways were good. If I were to make this again with the chives, I would probably add less mayo. Thanks evewitch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      This dip is the bomb. Made it exactly like the recipe. It looks like the dip you buy at the store, so I don't know why people think the dip is too light in color? It tastes awesome, was quick to make, and I have my new easy recipe for upcoming holiday invitations this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      This was amazing. Far superior to any pre-made or powdered dip out there. Absolutely make it the day before so it has time to really set the flavor. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

    • on April 08, 2009

      I didn't think this was anything special. I made a half recipe and thought there was not enough onion flavor to it. Even after being refrigerated for 2 days, the onion flavor just did not come through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I made this the night before and let it sit for the flavors to blend. It was pretty tasty. Next time, I will probably experiment with adding some more herbs and seasonings. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was OK, I was hoping it to be better. It had too to much of a mayonaise taste, which I like, but not w/ the dip. May try this again with less mayo or none at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      My family and friends really enjoyed this. Not too much effort, a short wait, and then a tasty reward! My husband loves the dip even though he HATES onions; my friend's husband was very impressed with homemade! Thanks for making me look good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      When I first made this, I burned the onions...so I started over turning my stove on very low and cooking for approximately 15 minutes. At first taste I was okay with it...however, the next day I was blown away with it! What a great tasting dip. I'll never buy the store stuff again. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Super good. Made about half a dozen dip for a party and this one was everyone's favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      Yum yum yum! This was loved by everyone. Very easy to prepare the night before, and tasted perfectly 'oniony'. Just the way we like it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Yummmm!!!! My DH is a huge onion fan, and even he said "wow, oniony! I love it!" I doubled the garlic and used fresh-ground black pepper b/c I didn't have any white pepper. Refrigerated overnight -- that is really necessary; the difference in the taste from when I just mixed it and then 16 hours later is very noticeable. I'll definitely make this again - why would I ever buy those tubs at the store again?? :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      My husband and I really liked this...not as salty as the Onion soup recipe. My teens thought it was too sour creamy. I am sure this is because they are used to the boullion in the dry soup recipe. So I guess I will be making it again for the two of us. Thanks evewitch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Fabulous! So easy and tasty! I had left over Sour Cream that needed using over Christmas so thought I'd give it a try. Certainly as yummy as store bought, and without all the nasty additives! This will certainly be a regular at parties from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      This dip really is wonderful! I thought maybe the onion flavor would be too overpowering, but that wasn't the case at all. We used it as a vegetable dip, as a substitute for mayo on sandwiches and veggie burgers, and DD thought it was even great with perogies! This dip will definitely become one of our regulars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      Excellent dip. This was so easy that I don't know why I would ever purchase onion dip again. I prepared this the night before my Super Bowl party, and the flavors blend so well after sitting over night. We will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Mmmmmmmm. This was wonderful. Used it as a dip in the first place and had some left so the next day I used it over grilled salmon. Wow, that was amazing. In fact it is a little too dense for a dip so I'll be using this to jazz up grilled fish, veggie burgers and the like. Cut down a little bit on the fat by using one tbs of oil to cook the onions and just one tbs mayo. Will certainly make again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Dip from Scratch

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.0
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    82%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 237.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes