Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion Burgers by John T. Edge - the Longmeadow Farm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Burgers by John T. Edge - the Longmeadow Farm

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2010

      I've made these three times already. Needless to say, but we loved them. Usually my hamburges come out to thick, but not these. The first time I used ground sirloin, to dry and the onions didn't have enough oil. The second time I used ground chuck, that was better, but the meat was cold and kept sticking to the spatula. The third time I let the meat warm up on the counter a little bit and I had no problem with it sticking and they did not fall apart. We toasted the buns and used hand shredded cheddar. fresh sliced tomato and romaine lettuce and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Andi If I could do more than 5 stars I would. The guys came in Sunday night from fishing and it was a rainy fish day for them so this was PERFECT both for them and for me. First off the onions made me drool when they were cooking up in the smashed down burgers. OH LORDY they smelled so good! Talk about a simple dish that s so easy to make and yet so delicious. Kind of like coming home on a blustery night to a warm cozy blanket. That is what I was reminded of while these cooked. Mike and his brother came in a went right to the stove. LOL HELLO dripping on the floors boys! So I set their plates as they changed but instead of chips we had hush puppies, pickles, and a fresh from the garden salad. Now I understand these are burgers but Mike and I agree this would be awesome topped over egg noddles or as a stand alone not so formed. I will DEFINITELY Make these again as they come to gether so fast and easy. I may even throw some garlic in there even though for once I did not miss it. Andi you rock g/f.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is a method recipe, and it was fabulous! Hot searing helped maintain the burger's shape and the onions added to the great taste! I used a mandoline on 1.5 mm to cut the onions, and 7 mm to cut the tomatoes. I added my favorite brown mustard, Koskiusko (maybe more available where I live). I applied the tomato and pickles directly to the burger:D Since we are vegetarians, and vegetarian crumbles don't hold their shape as well, I used 1 egg as a binder. Even though they started to fall apart before I put them in the skillet, after 1 minute they held their shape just fine. I used 12 ounces crumbles, made 3 burgers and I enjoyed 1 of them while my BF enjoyed 2. He gobbled down both, and gave it a thumbs up. Our usual burgers are 2.5 (soy) ounces, so it wasn't hunger that made him eat both these burgers up fast! I was also concerned about whether the onions would cook through but that was not a problem. When I turned these burgers over, onions were on the bottom and they cooked up just fine. I used a thin slice of red pepper cheese because I'm not sure what pimento cheese is, and didn't find any in the store (not sure if the two are one in the same). This was a great recipe! I will make my burgers like this again any time! Thank you Andi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      This has taught me a new way for burger making! The burgers came out scrumptious and DH ask me to make these again please (true compliment!). Cheese of choice was what I had in the fridge, Cheddar. Took the advice of another reviewer and let the beef warm for awhile and I had no problem with it. Made for PAC, Fall 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      These are GREAT burgers - love the onions all smushed up in there! And mustard is perfect in our opinion to spice these up - they don't need anything else. I used provolone and american cheeses between the 3 of us. Tomato slices and kosher dill pickles were served on the side, with sweet potato fries. Thanks for posting - Made for Spring PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      No doubt some of the best recipes have the simplest of ingredients. Method ranks high with these yummy cheeseburgers! Next time I will use a white or red onion though, as I went with a sweet since it's all I had in the fridge and would've liked a stronger onion flavor. This is a burger that will be made in our kitchen time and again. Thanks Andi, for sharing great recipes and stories with all of us here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Wow!!! Andi, these burgers are worth every tear I shed from slicing my onions as thin as I possibly could! I thought I would hear some complaint from some of my kids...instead I heard "Mom, are there more burgers?"! The last couple of minutes I topped the burgers with slices of Munster cheese, allowing it to melt before transferring the burgers to the buns. We then topped our burgers with sliced avocado and slices of fresh garden tomatoes. This will be my go to burger recipe when snow is flying and I can not use the grill. Made as a recipenap for the Aug. 2011 AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Oh, onion and beef, how I love thee. Let me count the ways... What is not to love about a beautiful free form burger seared in cast iron with charred onions smashed in? This was absolutely perfect on a soft potato bun with extra sharp cheddar and pimento cheese, honey mustard, and bread and butter pickles. Mmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Delish. You've delivered once again Andi! These are such tasty simple burgers -- not a lot of "frills" to compete with the oniony beefy flavor. I didn't use quite as much onion as the recipe said...it looked like a lot when I put it on the burgers but by the time they were done the onions had cooked down and shriveled up so much I wish I had more on there. Next time I'll use the same amount as you say to in the recipe. I topped them with a slice of american cheese, ketchup and mustard. Thanks for posting! Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Very good and easy burger. Stree reliever!!!! Photo coming later.Will make again. Made for Make My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      McDonald's who? No comparison and can never go back for this is just too easy. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      What a fabulous and unique way of making burgers.....we LOVED it! I threw some chilli flakes and spicy chicken salt into the meat mixture,before hurling it into the pan and bashing it around (how much fun was that!!!!) The whole process was so quick and easy and the results were great...gobbled down in record time! DH (the burger expert!) loved the onion cooked into the burger like that,and has already put in a request for more...I'd call that a success!! Thanks so much for posting Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Yummy! We gave this recipe 5 stars because well,... One, it's delicious. And two, it's such a unique way to prepare burgers. :) Made as directed using white american cheese. Once photographed, we put the tomatoes and chips right into the burger and dove in! Thanks Andi, for another great recipe from the farm. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Excellent an so easy. We didn't have pimento, so used swiss instead. What a way to make a burger. Tagged in everyday's a holiday. Thanks Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      hehe what a method!! Got rid of some stress there!! Fun, DH figured he should have a go at bashing the burgers hehe!!! and they were tasty too, because I was not using the buns I added the cheese, mozzarella, while still in the pan to let it melt; I put a lid on for about 2 minutes. It turned out great with tomato slices and lettuce, served as an entree with potato and roasted acorn squash. Delicious supper, thanks for posting, no doubt I will do these again , next time with the bun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Wow, this tastes delicious and so easy to make too~! Love the unique method you used here for making burgers. It was like playing! I used a slice of cheese for each burger :D Thanks for sharing this, Andi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Utterly delicious! I love having the onions cooked into the burger and will probably cook all future burgers the same way. I used regular yellow mustard on the bottom, plus some dill relish and a bit of ketchup (my usual burger condiments) and served it on a wonderful bioche bun made by Macrina Bakery here in Seattle. Then, because I never have been able to appreciate cheeseburgers, but didn't want to ignore the pimento cheese, I stuffed some celery sticks with the pimento cheese as a side. (And they were perfect! I like crunch. :-) Thanks for this, Andi. It's WONDERFUL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this on 12/31/07 for our dinner.SO wasn't brave enough to try it with the pimento cheese,but I was.And all can tell you is,WOW !!! this is one great burger.I served this on toast,and put a slice of tomato on it.Thanks for posting.This "WILL" be made again,and "Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Andi these were excellant! I used a Stilton cheese with some cheddar. Next time I will use ground round as I do not like the flavor of ground chuck as well. Added to my beef cookbook! Thanks Edited 09/20/07: Made these a second time last night. Did not have any tomato but added sliced pickle and used only american cheese... still one of the best burgers I have had, so simple yet so tastey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      These are awesome, Andi! I used American cheese and added some lettuce and tomatoes. This was so easy but so good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Burgers by John T. Edge - the Longmeadow Farm

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.5
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    43%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 375.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes