Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion Bread Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Bread Pudding

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      This was fabulous! It tasted just like french onion soup. Everyone loved it and this is bound to become one of the top requested dishes at our family gatherings. The only change I made was that I used sour dough bread instead of french. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This is excellent! I've already decided to add this to my holiday menu. I used big, sweet Spanish onions. I cut the butter down to 6 tbsp and used fat free half and half and it was still rich, cheesey and savory. After I rubbed the garlic in the dish I crushed it and added it right into the onions. If you love onions, you will LOVE this! Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      MMMMM!!! Delicious! Even the onion haters loved this pudding! Easy and fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This was a great basic recipe. I didn't have many of the ingredients on hand, so substitued as follows (and therefore didn't "rate" the original recipe): Only used about 1/2 of an onion; Used 1/4 cup riesling (all I had on hand); Didn't use garlic; Used Sunday's leftover soft parmesan garlic breadsticks for the bread (hence the garlic was already "built-in") Recipe 104628; Used about 1-1/2 cups mixed freshly grated parmesan & romano; Used whole milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2. Turned out absolutely delish! You've gotta try this recipe with your own favorite ingredients! You won't be sorry! Thanks, Yooper! It'll be my new "go to" recipe. Next I'm going to try a stuffing-type flavor to go with roasted chicken or turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I absolutely loved the base of this recipe which I made with a few changes. One, I made Delicious Broccoli Cauliflower Salad which left me with some leftover bacon fat. I used this instead of the butter and oil to brown the onions. I was out of vermouth and skipped this step. I added an extra clove of garlic and like other, after rolling around in the bowl, chopped it and added to cooking onion mixture. Followed the rest of the instructions and for our Easter dinner, EVERYONE raved about this dish. To say it is like french onion soup is misleading, it is even better. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars was the high amount of fat which I thought was a bit much. But the flavors, fantastic! I will make this again. I'm thinking for Thanksgiving, making it but with poultry season added for a new wave stuffing. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Very good! I made as stated, with vermouth and swiss cheese. I think it would also be good with mozzarella, which I will try next time. Some thought it needed more salt and pepper, but that's easily remedied at the table. Thanks yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious. I paired it with pot roast, and it was a great match. I cut the recipe in half, subbed sherry for the vermouth, and added a little roasted garlic that I had on hand. I will be making this again, yooper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This was very very good. I assembled this this a day ahead, and baked it to go with our Christmas dinner (my Perfect Prime Rib #73866) ......I was SO fed up with potatoes, lol, and this was a wonderful savory substitute. This has a nice mellow flavor that everyone loved, even the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      Yummy, fluffy dish! I did reduce the fat content, like Catte Nappe, by using reduced fat milk and omitting the butter topping. It was very good, and I don't believe more fat content would have made it taste any better for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Very very good. My picky kids wouldn't eat it but it is more of an adult dish & I was expecting that. I don't keep vermouth in the house & didn't want to buy it just for this so I used Burgundy instead & it worked great. Wine & onions is a no miss combo anyway. I also used heavy cream to up the "sinfulness" of this. Worked great and was delicious. Thanks for a great recipe Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      deliciously decadent our first time having a "savory" bread pudding

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I wanted to try this for the longest time but fat content and complexity kept me back. Usually I try to stick to recipes pretty much as written the first time out, but I decided to give it a go with some changes. Vermouth is not part of my "staple" seasoning collection, so used cooking sherry instead. Less butter with the oil still allows the onions to caramelize; low fat milk replaced the half'n'half; and I skipped the melted butter topping. It was very good! Second time out I used a reduced fat swiss cheese, and just minced the garlic very fine and mixed it in. That was still very good! Now it's a pretty quick and easy side dish that tastes more sinful than it really is. With these modifications it's a keeper at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Bread Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (413 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.7
     
    Calories from Fat 364
    60%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 23.4 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 215.9 mg
    71%
    Sodium 477.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 20.9 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes