15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this onion bread! I followed the lead of a cpl of the reviews by using a mix of white & whole wheat flour + dry onion soup mix. My kitchen smelled like heaven & my tastebuds thot they had died & gone there. This is a dense bread that is great as toast & for sandwiches is best sliced thinly. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis May 01, 2010

I made a few changes to the recipe. I did not use my bread machine but instead kneaded the dough in my Kitchen Aid and let it rise for 30 min. Hereafter I punched it back down and formed it as a round 'loaf' and let it rice for another 30 min. I used 1/4 dried onions and 1 tsp garlic powder since I did not have onion powder. I used water instead of milk and only 1 tbsp of butter. All in all it worked great and we had a fantastic bread with our dinner and for lunch! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 31, 2011

Very nice flavor, with a tender inside crumb. Made on the dough cycle in the ABM, with 2 cups bread flour, 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp garlic powder ~ and then as written! Made into 8 little loaves, baked at 375F for 15 minutes! Tagged for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle September 30, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I used a packet of onion soup mix in place of the dried and powdered onion. I also omitted the salt, as my onion soup had A LOT of salt in it. The only other sub I made was to use white pepper instead of black. This bread had a great flavor and texture, I was very pleased with the result. Great toasted with cheese on it, I think it will also be a great sandwich bread. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH March 15, 2011

I really like the taste of those "Specialty Type Breads " but they cost so much and decided to look for recipes and try to make my own.When I saw this one,and thought "Why not?".As a few of the other ones did I used a package of onion soup mix in place of the dried onions and onion powder. Other than that change the recipe was made with the ingredients called for.Since I don't care for the way the bread looks when it's baked in the machine,only the dough cycle was used.After placing the bread dough in a greased loaf pan, it was covered and left to rise in a warm oven for about 45 minutes. Then it was baked for about half an hour at 350 degrees. And now to describe the taste,I spread a bit of margarine on a warm slice and OMGoodness!!! it was wonderful. I'm certainly going to make this again.Thank you so much for posting and," Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � March 08, 2011

Great bread. I also used a dry onion soup mix (a recipe I made with no sodium). I used the dough setting. I let rise the bread 40 minutes and baked it at 350 F for 30 minutes. The bread has a great texture and is so good. Thanks Chocolatl :) Made for Holiday tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 24, 2011

I took recommendations from others and used 2 cups bread flour and 1.25 cups white whole wheat which still turned out a nice soft loaf of white bread. Hubby said that there wasn't much flavor to the bread and I have to admit I thought the onion flavors would prevail more than they did. Next time I will use the recommendation of onion soup mix! Ate this bread along side a Pasta House Salad for a nice no-bake vegetarian meal last evening. So on day two, I had a slice of bread toasted with butter which was really nice, still somewhat moist (rare for ABM breads) and then for dinner I used it to make Toasted Caprese Sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride July 28, 2010

This was very good but I will admit that I reduced the dried onion amount to 1/4 cup. Can't wait to try this tomorrow toasted. The house smells wonderful! Reviewed for Veg Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 03, 2010

Delicious! Came out perfect. I have to try this as a no knead bread--I think it would be even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon in Podunk April 06, 2010

I Used onion soup mix instead of just onion flakes . Same amount and everything else the same it was fabulas thank you for this receipe WOW great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberley Quinlan January 03, 2010
Onion Bread for the Abm