Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion Bread for the Abm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion Bread for the Abm

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      We loved this onion bread! I followed the lead of a cpl of the reviews by using a mix of white & whole wheat flour + dry onion soup mix. My kitchen smelled like heaven & my tastebuds thot they had died & gone there. This is a dense bread that is great as toast & for sandwiches is best sliced thinly. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      I made a few changes to the recipe. I did not use my bread machine but instead kneaded the dough in my Kitchen Aid and let it rise for 30 min. Hereafter I punched it back down and formed it as a round 'loaf' and let it rice for another 30 min. I used 1/4 dried onions and 1 tsp garlic powder since I did not have onion powder. I used water instead of milk and only 1 tbsp of butter. All in all it worked great and we had a fantastic bread with our dinner and for lunch! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Very nice flavor, with a tender inside crumb. Made on the dough cycle in the ABM, with 2 cups bread flour, 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp garlic powder ~ and then as written! Made into 8 little loaves, baked at 375F for 15 minutes! Tagged for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Like many other reviewers, I used a packet of onion soup mix in place of the dried and powdered onion. I also omitted the salt, as my onion soup had A LOT of salt in it. The only other sub I made was to use white pepper instead of black. This bread had a great flavor and texture, I was very pleased with the result. Great toasted with cheese on it, I think it will also be a great sandwich bread. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      I really like the taste of those "Specialty Type Breads " but they cost so much and decided to look for recipes and try to make my own.When I saw this one,and thought "Why not?".As a few of the other ones did I used a package of onion soup mix in place of the dried onions and onion powder. Other than that change the recipe was made with the ingredients called for.Since I don't care for the way the bread looks when it's baked in the machine,only the dough cycle was used.After placing the bread dough in a greased loaf pan, it was covered and left to rise in a warm oven for about 45 minutes. Then it was baked for about half an hour at 350 degrees. And now to describe the taste,I spread a bit of margarine on a warm slice and OMGoodness!!! it was wonderful. I'm certainly going to make this again.Thank you so much for posting and," Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Great bread. I also used a dry onion soup mix (a recipe I made with no sodium). I used the dough setting. I let rise the bread 40 minutes and baked it at 350 F for 30 minutes. The bread has a great texture and is so good. Thanks Chocolatl :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I took recommendations from others and used 2 cups bread flour and 1.25 cups white whole wheat which still turned out a nice soft loaf of white bread. Hubby said that there wasn't much flavor to the bread and I have to admit I thought the onion flavors would prevail more than they did. Next time I will use the recommendation of onion soup mix! Ate this bread along side a Pasta House Salad for a nice no-bake vegetarian meal last evening. So on day two, I had a slice of bread toasted with butter which was really nice, still somewhat moist (rare for ABM breads) and then for dinner I used it to make Toasted Caprese Sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This was very good but I will admit that I reduced the dried onion amount to 1/4 cup. Can't wait to try this tomorrow toasted. The house smells wonderful! Reviewed for Veg Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Delicious! Came out perfect. I have to try this as a no knead bread--I think it would be even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I Used onion soup mix instead of just onion flakes . Same amount and everything else the same it was fabulas thank you for this receipe WOW great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Wonderful bread with the perfect amount of onion flavor. I did add more black pepper, love it, and kosher salt. Also made Chocolatl's A Walk Through the Garden Mayonnaise for tuna salad and enjoyed a great sandwich on this bread. Kittencal suggested toasting and it was so good that way too! Thank you so much sweets for posting this recipe. Will make it again soon! Made and reviewed for KK's Chef's Pick Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This is the best onion bread! I used my bread machine for the mixing and first rising then made buns. These were great made into turkey sammies! I will be making this recipe very often! Everyone loved it! Thanks Pat! Awesome recipe!!! Made for KK Chef's Pick Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I haven't used my bread mahin very much until recently. I made this today, and the whole house smelled wonderful! Easy to follow, very easy to eat, great reipe! Thanks Pat for a winner! This was made for Chef's Pick at KK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This is a truly delicious bread. I used 2 cups of white flour and 1 1/4 of whole wheat and used the dough setting to made buns (I can never finish a whole load of bread). The aroma is out of this world even as it's rising and the pepper adds a special something. You can't go wrong with this recipe. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I really can't say enough about this wonderful bread, this is one that I will make again, I made this on my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with a few amount adjustments, I also added 1 teaspoon garlic powder, I could eat the whole loaf myself in one sitting it is just that good, thank you Pat for a great recipe, this was made for KK's Chef's Pick game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion Bread for the Abm

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    14%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 6.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 314.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    water

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites