8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were really great! I used regular flour, since gram flour isn't readily available here and they turned out fine. Thanks for posting this! I'll be using the recipe again when my hubby gets homesick and wants Indian food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie_C December 29, 2007

The spice mix in this recipe is nice, but I was wary of the fact that the only vegetable in this fritter was onions. Instead I did a mix of onion and shredded yams. My boyfriend found the onion flavor still to be too strong, even with the amount cut by half. Also, I had trouble getting these to fry up, they kept coming apart in the oil. I had much better luck baking them in the oven on a cookie sheet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahCKS February 01, 2010

These are delicious! We had them with a mango chutney and they were quickly devoured. I used a griddle in an effort to reduce the fat and it worked pretty well though the patties were harder to keep togther than when fried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate December 14, 2007

5 Stars without a doubt! These are really tasty little morsels. I served mine with a blob of greek yogurt on the side and mannaged to knock off the whole lot off myself :)I skipped the coriander (not a fan) and added some fresh chili.FANTASTIC! If making for a crowd or in my case more than one, do yourself a favour and at least double the recipe. edited to add: mine took only a few minutes to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 01, 2006

Hubby and I loved them. I served them with a spicy yoghurt dipping sauce. I'll definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMAshton April 21, 2006

fabbbbuloso! We really enjoyed these. I added the extra green chili per our tastes. We really love onion bhajees and usually use a mix to make it out of laziness, but this is definitely better! Will be a regular recipe for us :) thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary March 23, 2006

These were delicious and very easy to make. We had them with my own hot tomato sauce. I am sure they would be good just on their own without sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy July 07, 2004

i think this used 1/4 c cold water and then a few spoonfuls more. i mixed it with 1/2 chopped fine onion, and that was plenty. this cooked up really fast and i got 9 out of my heavy handed batch- used a greased soup spoon to drop the batter into the pan, worked really well. i served them with mango chutney and tahini sauce, my dd#3 said this was like spicy falaffel, funny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 27, 2003
Onion Bhajees