19 Reviews

5 stars! I prepared with ease last night and had for lunch today and it was just as good leftover. I served with rice and english peas. I followed the suggestion of adding water and flour for more gravy. I will make this again and again. It smells heavenly too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn February 28, 2003

I loved this recipe!! I did add one tablespoon of brown sugar to the onions (also added a few mushrooms). Instead of adding water, I used a little chicken broth. The porkchops were fork tender. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes and creamed corn. Delicious!! I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastal Cook March 25, 2007

This was very good, and very easy! The chops were fork tender. I made the gravy which was tasty too. Next time I will be adding some salt. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ September 13, 2003

This was exactly what I was looking for for dinner last night. It did not disappoint me. I let the onions really brown, added the garlic cooked for a few more minutes added the chops back to the pan added about 6 tbsp water - lid on and cooked them for about 15 minutes turning once. The onions were almost carmelized and tasted wonderful I added a dozen small mushrooms (with the garlic) that looked lonely in my fridge. Great easy recipe - Thanks Joy1996

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 11, 2003

OH Yes..The smell was wonderful. The taste even better. I did not make any gravy but sure will next time. The Pork came out tender tender. The taste was just a great.We had baked potato and salad. Thank You for another pork recipe to keep forever. Hugs

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda August 27, 2003

Delicious! The only change I made was to add white wine to the pan, instead of water. I think some sliced mushrooms would be a fantastic addition, as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyez1005 July 08, 2015

The sirloin chops were tender and the first time I had made gravy from a rue since my grandmother showed me. My gravy was never as good her as hers. However, this recipe made me smack my lips. Even low sodium. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana N. May 16, 2015

I found the cooking time to be off for this recipe. My chops were 3/4" thick and yet they were done within 15 minutes according to my digital thermometer. Unfortunately, the chops turned out to be really dry but I see from other reviews that this is not a "normal" result. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word December 09, 2011

salt the pork chops before you cook them, then it's perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffanynodal October 29, 2010

Wow! Like many other I was skeptical about the recipe being bland. What a wonderful easy recipe. I did a bit of salt to the pork chops and when I added the onions and garlic to the pan; I browned them a bit and then added a few tablespoons of flour before I added the water. Covered and let this simmer for about 20 minutes; then added about 1/2 teaspoon of Kitchen Bouquet to the Onion Gravy. Delicious!!! Served with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Broccoli. Thanks for posting!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom April 06, 2010
Onion and Garlic Smothered Pork Chops