Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Onion and Garlic Smothered Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Onion and Garlic Smothered Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2003

      5 stars! I prepared with ease last night and had for lunch today and it was just as good leftover. I served with rice and english peas. I followed the suggestion of adding water and flour for more gravy. I will make this again and again. It smells heavenly too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I loved this recipe!! I did add one tablespoon of brown sugar to the onions (also added a few mushrooms). Instead of adding water, I used a little chicken broth. The porkchops were fork tender. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes and creamed corn. Delicious!! I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This was very good, and very easy! The chops were fork tender. I made the gravy which was tasty too. Next time I will be adding some salt. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      This was exactly what I was looking for for dinner last night. It did not disappoint me. I let the onions really brown, added the garlic cooked for a few more minutes added the chops back to the pan added about 6 tbsp water - lid on and cooked them for about 15 minutes turning once. The onions were almost carmelized and tasted wonderful I added a dozen small mushrooms (with the garlic) that looked lonely in my fridge. Great easy recipe - Thanks Joy1996

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      OH Yes..The smell was wonderful. The taste even better. I did not make any gravy but sure will next time. The Pork came out tender tender. The taste was just a great.We had baked potato and salad. Thank You for another pork recipe to keep forever. Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      I found the cooking time to be off for this recipe. My chops were 3/4" thick and yet they were done within 15 minutes according to my digital thermometer. Unfortunately, the chops turned out to be really dry but I see from other reviews that this is not a "normal" result. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      salt the pork chops before you cook them, then it's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Wow! Like many other I was skeptical about the recipe being bland. What a wonderful easy recipe. I did a bit of salt to the pork chops and when I added the onions and garlic to the pan; I browned them a bit and then added a few tablespoons of flour before I added the water. Covered and let this simmer for about 20 minutes; then added about 1/2 teaspoon of Kitchen Bouquet to the Onion Gravy. Delicious!!! Served with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Broccoli. Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Made this for supper tonight. Very good and will be making again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      To be honest when I decided to try your recipe I was doubtful that they would be flavorful - how wrong I was. I used 1" thick boneless rib and did add some no-salt seasonings because my husband is on a low salt diet. They did not dry out and the onions were sweet and the chops fork tender. Thank you for such a simple and easy to make recipe. One does not need a lot of ingredients to produce a delicious meal - just make sure it is properly cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      These were very good. The sauce was thin, even after boiling the heck out of it to reduce and (hopefully) thicken it. Next time I would definitely add a little cornstarch to make a more substantial sauce. It also lacked salt, so I'll add that next time as well. I do love the simplicity and technique of this recipe and our chops tonight were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This was fantastic! I was very worried about it being bland. I mean, come on, onion, garlic and pepper? Bland city. Boy, was I WRONG! So tender, so juicy and very flavorful. The onions were deliciously sweet. The pork chops were meltingly tender. I did not use oil, but just sprayed my electric skillet with cooking spray once for the chops, and once for the onions and garlic. They were not wimpy sprays, but I didn't have any depth of oil either. I did double the recipe, since I had 8 chops thawed. I am so glad I did! Thank you so much for this fantastic, easy recipe. I am printing out copies to take to work tomorrow, so I can recommend this recipe! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I made this for my in laws after a particularly stressful day and let me tell you This was outstanding. I think I added more garlic than the recipe called for as well as salt and mushrooms. I served it with long grain and wild rice and steamed broccoli. I think I am gonna make it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      This is wonderful and so easy!I did add some salt and served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed okra. Yummy, yum, yum! I do think next time I will use a mixture of water and chicken broth or white wine for the sauce, but it was still great just the way it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Great recipe, I did just a bit different with the onions, I melted unsalted butter in place of olive oil,doubled the onions and added 2 tablespoons of brown suger. When the onions had carmelized I added the chops and continued with the recipe. I did add a sprinkle of salt. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      Excellent low carb meal as long as you don't add the flour. I missed the salt as well .. easy to cook, easier to eat! I will try this again with the mushroom idea. Great recipe .. thanx for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      My DH and 16yr son loved it and to get them to both like something is a very good sign. The only thing missing was the salt. I liked Bergy's idea of mushrooms I may try that too. and instead of flour as a thickener I used corn starch. I will be using this recipe again and again as it seems pork chops need all the help they can get to taste anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Onion and Garlic Smothered Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 560.4
     
    Calories from Fat 318
    56%
    Total Fat 35.4 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 151.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 53.3 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites