18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Variations: (use plastic food wrap to help mold it, and to keep it off your hands.) fillings: *fuji`kko (preserved sea kelp? I don't know what this is called in english) *bonito flakes (katsuobushi) mixed with soy sauce to make a paste-like filling other variations: *furikake (stuff you sprinkle on rice, like flavouring) various flavours... (furi - "shake" ka`ke -"ontop") I use this for when I make rice, and I want to have a healthy and fast snack in class (I'm a university student). I usually make a batch of rice, and then make 4 or 5 of these, using a new piece of plastic wrap each time. The piece used for each becomes the wrapping for the o`ni`gi`ri, so you can just make it and toss it (not literally...) in your bag. (^_^)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Makironi February 11, 2003

It is ESSENTIAL that you use the right rice here people or this won't work. Real sushi rice has a high starch content which makes it sticky. Really, really sticky! Sho-Chiku-Bai premium sweet rice made by Koda Farms is a great one to use. If you are lucky enough have an Asian grocer nearby you can find it there. If not it can be purchased online.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pigzen May 02, 2011

My favorite comfort food!!! Makironi's suggestions were very helpful-- thank you! I like the bonito flakes and furikake suggestions, and using plastic wrap to mold the rolls is great. I am still practicing making the triangle shape, but the taste is always sensational. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wen-wen January 26, 2004

I used a filling of avocado, wasabi, soy sauce and mayo which was great. I couldn't get mine to stick together in one piece, though, and I tried another batch with sticky sushi-like rice which was even less cooperative. Will have to practice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS October 01, 2010

This is a basic recipe, but there are 2 extra things you can do: in the chinese/korean markets, you can buy the onigiri molds. They are plastic molds that make it easier to make the onigiri. I use them and it saves a lot of time. Also, they come out in perfect shapes and the rice doesn't stick to the plastic. Another thing is you can add different things to the rice to vary the flavor, like sesame seeds or sprinkle some bonito seasoning on them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Romi224 June 08, 2009

i kinda would like to know if you could of had substitute ingredants for just meat. like the umeboshi and the nori. would you be able to use meat instead of those.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Onigiri_freak12 January 28, 2008

This is a fun recipe, very easy to make. My onigiri balls fell apart until I put them in the refridgerator. We used wax paper to shape them, since the rice kept sticking to the plastic wrap and to our fingers. We couldn't figure out how big to make them, haha - and we used chicken. :) it was gooood

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy Stars July 11, 2007

Very tasty! My favorite onigiri has bonito or ebi in it, sweet tamogo (diced finely), sliced negi and just a pinch of wasabi. The saran-wrap meathod works really well. I've seen my host mom shape the onegiri in her hands, add the necessary ingredients, then wrap them in saran-wrap and push each flat side against the table to 'sharpen' the corners. When she unwraps them they always look great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merron-iru kami May 27, 2007
Onigiri (Japanese Rice Balls)