16 Reviews

What a wonderful meal we had. This recipe is perfect. Perfectly easy to assemble, and perfectly east to eat!!!. It was so good, all of the flavors melded together. It was wonderful. I did a bad thing, though. I only used a small 2 1/2 lb. roast, so I didn't have any leftovers. I will do better next time I make this. I used 2 onions, quartered, and used Cream of Mushroom soup. This is terrific, thanks for sharing.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 20, 2002

One of the best roast dinners I've had. Don't usually like recipes with creamed soup, but the tomatoes cut that taste well. I don't like onions very much, but the rest of the family does, so I cut onions in half and nestled in sauce. Family well pleased!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter April 28, 2003

Thanks for an easy tasty recipe! Served it over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 28, 2011

Excellent recipe - I used a pork roast with ribs...chicken and Mushroom soup and a can of mushroom soup with roasted garlic. Sprinkled a package of beefy onion soup over the top and put it into a slow oven for about 5 hours. It was AMAZING!!! Fall off the bone tender with TONS of flavor! Thanks Tara - Great Recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Kissing Cook March 16, 2010

This is so easy and very tasty! I didn't have any celery, but next time I will. I also added 1 T. of Worchestershire sauce to the soup mixture. This should also work well in a crockpot on low for 8 hours. Thanks for posting Tara.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie December 17, 2009

This recipe was DELISH! Here are some changed I made: Added fresh white mushrooms, used baby red potatoes (halved) and used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup! I also prefer the whole tomatoes over the stewed. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamaicacrazy85 October 14, 2009

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you, Tara, for such and easy and delicious recipe. We don't eat beef often but I bought some sirloin strips on special and had no idea what to do with them, so I decided to try a pot roast recipe. I skipped the celery, used carrots, potatoes, onion and several garlic cloves along with the soups, salt, pepper and onion powder. I just threw it all in a dutch oven and let it bake for 1 1/2 hours. My fiance and I were very pleased and we both had seconds. I love the way this dish makes it's own delicious gravy and lots of it. I love how easy this dish is to make. This one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd December 11, 2008

I like this recipe--I used a 3 lb pork loin (not tenderloin) roast and a 7 Qt dutch oven with the oven set at 325. I browned the roast on all sides with a small amt of oil. I took the roast out and cooked the onions and some garlic in the oil and scrapped up the brown bits on the bottom. Instead of tomatoes I used 1 can coke. (This tip from a dear friend in Iowa) I stirred the soup and coke together with the onion mixture and cooked a few minutes before adding the meat and vegetables. I often do not have celery on hand but keep celery flakes in the spice drawer and they add just the right flavor. I will keep this recipe and try it with tomatoes sometime. Good for busy days. I think the cook time has to be adjusted for type and size of roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulagray June 08, 2008

I am so sorry - I hate to disagree with all of the fabulous reviews for this dish - but this did not work out well for me. I cooked a pot roast in the oven, and the meat came out way overcooked, and lacking of flavor. Perhaps it was the cut of meat I chose - or perhaps a pork roast would be better in this dish - or perhaps I should have cooked it in the crockpot (the only way I usually like pot roast cooked). The veggies were okay, but hubby and I did not care for the tomatoes in the sauce (we thought it would have been better with just the cream of mushroom soup). Unfornately, the veggies also did not have that "roasted" look or taste to them, like we usually like, and were not particularly flavorful. I know that lots of reviewers have raved about this dish, so maybe it was just our taste preference. Thanks for sharing, though, and I am glad it has worked out so well for many of you! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helping Hands March 05, 2007
One Pot Pork Roast Dinner (or beef)