65 Reviews

WOW! Now I can have a muffin in any flavor I want in just a few minutes. No big batch to tempt me. This recipe seems very versatile. This is a cross between a muffin and a bowl of healthy cereal. I melted l teaspoon of coconut oil in the cup for 30 seconds in the microwave, 10 seconds at a time on low until melted. Then I added the flax seed meal, the baking powder, 1 package of Sweetleaf Stevia sweetener, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, l egg, 2 dashes of dried orange peel, and 2 teaspoons of frozen blueberries. Stir well and cook as directed. Next time I will add a few chopped walnuts and raisins. Maybe some chopped apples or strawberries. YUM. Thank you EasternCook. UPDATE = This is my new favorite recipe. I just added 2 cut up dried apricots to the cup and mixed it up, and it was wonderful. Next time I will try to use egg replacer or 2 egg whites for the egg. UPDATE #2 I have found that stirring all the dry ingredients first works out better because otherwise the baking powder has a tendency to clump. Stir the dry ingredients well, then add the egg and oil (even the coconut oil mixes in pretty well this way). Stir again. Add fruit and cook. I have used raisins with good success, but don't like nuts in this. My family says this is prison food, but I love it, and it fills me up!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inklady May 06, 2009

This recipe has been a God send for this diabetic, I love it and make it every day now, My blood surar is really improving and I can even eat things that I couldn't before. I use the real cinnamon from Ceylon and splenda and sodium free baking powder , I don't use any shortening most of the time. I found that I could use 1/2 cup of the flaxmeal with one egg and added water.
I double the baking powder and cinnamon and shortening when I use it. I cook it in a round microwave safe glass bowl that is about 4 inches in diameter and about 3 inches high and cook it for 3 minutes. I let it cool a bit and then turn it on its edge and slice it into about 5 slices, Great for toast and sandwiches.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorcus247 July 15, 2011

I thought I reviewed this, but I think someone else got credit. Love this recipe. I use GOLDEN flax meal as it is milder tasting and nutty. I use a 4" ramekin and dump the bread out on it's side on a cooling rack to mark it for cutting even slices. I have done both savory and sweet and like both. I use the savory more often and usually add a pinch of garlic salt and some italian seasoning mix. Delicious! I am eternally grateful for this recipe. Thank you for posting.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThinOne January 26, 2010

I really liked this recipe. It is quick and easy to do and small amount of clean up. I used honey in place of stevia. I think it really needs some nuts or berries to make them "pop" otherwise they are plain. Hint - must use a coffee cup with straight sides. I used a round shaped mug and it didn't cook up as well. I am going to make up packets with the dry ingredients in ziploc bags so that in the morning i can just dump, mix, cook and away i go.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thecookingPA-C September 19, 2008

This recipe has become my go-to breakfast for the last few weeks. It's a good source of fiber, low carb, has protein from the egg; it's pretty much everything a low-carber is looking for. Oh, did I mention it tastes great, and makes a great base for all kinds of flavors (chocolate flax muffin, yum!)? I've found that reducing the cook time (1:10 for my microwave) and using aluminum-free baking powder results in a better taste and texture.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckdawna May 19, 2010

If you're a LC'er this muffin is heaven! I miss eating a lot of muffins. I make mine with stevia, peanut butter and just a touch of jelly. As far as low carb goes, I'd say five stars. Compared to a delicous Costco (or mainstream) muffin I'd give it one star.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Emi April 01, 2009

This is an extremely flexible and adaptable recipe. You can add nuts or fruit to the muffin for some variety. It's quick, it's very forgiving and you can experiment with new things without ruining a whole recipe. I have one almost every day and it's so fresh and tasty.<br/><br/>I've recently taken to making pizza crust with it. Take out the sweetener, add 2T of grated Parmesan, some oregano, pepper, and a tablespoon or 3 of water to make to make it a touch thinner. You spread it out on some parchment, microwave it for 30-45 seconds, add the toppings and toss it in the oven for 10 min and viola! Low-carb personal sized pizza! Takes all of 5 min.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Llalania G. September 09, 2013

Although I would rate mine 3 stars, I gave the recipe five stars because I didn't make it exactly as written. I didn't use stevia powder, I used a stevia packet and it wasn't sweet at all. Next time I'll use 2 packets of stevia, a little vanilla, some nutmeg and maybe a little pumpkin in place of oil and put some cream cheese on it. Like another reviewer said, the possibilities are endless, if you sweeten the cream cheese these would be like cinnamon rolls. I mean, not even close to cinnabon but, I've tasted enough sugar in my life, I'd rather stay on track, and this recipe is a great way to do just that!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mckick19 February 14, 2011

I went with a cheese-garlic muffin...and it was good. I added about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and a tablespoon of garlic power. I ate it warm & buttered and satisfied my craving for bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy-in-the-Kitchen February 05, 2012

This is the coolest thing I've seen in a long time! Mix it all up in a coffee cup, zap it for one minute, turn it upside down on a plate and the TALLest muffin you've ever seen just sliiiiides right out. The taste wasn't half bad either, although next time I'm going to try melted butter in place of the oil. Awesome!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby August 10, 2008
One Minute Flax Muffin - Low Carb