Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / One Minute Flax Muffin - Low Carb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    One Minute Flax Muffin - Low Carb

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2009

      WOW! Now I can have a muffin in any flavor I want in just a few minutes. No big batch to tempt me. This recipe seems very versatile. This is a cross between a muffin and a bowl of healthy cereal. I melted l teaspoon of coconut oil in the cup for 30 seconds in the microwave, 10 seconds at a time on low until melted. Then I added the flax seed meal, the baking powder, 1 package of Sweetleaf Stevia sweetener, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, l egg, 2 dashes of dried orange peel, and 2 teaspoons of frozen blueberries. Stir well and cook as directed. Next time I will add a few chopped walnuts and raisins. Maybe some chopped apples or strawberries. YUM. Thank you EasternCook. UPDATE = This is my new favorite recipe. I just added 2 cut up dried apricots to the cup and mixed it up, and it was wonderful. Next time I will try to use egg replacer or 2 egg whites for the egg. UPDATE #2 I have found that stirring all the dry ingredients first works out better because otherwise the baking powder has a tendency to clump. Stir the dry ingredients well, then add the egg and oil (even the coconut oil mixes in pretty well this way). Stir again. Add fruit and cook. I have used raisins with good success, but don't like nuts in this. My family says this is prison food, but I love it, and it fills me up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      This recipe has been a God send for this diabetic, I love it and make it every day now, My blood surar is really improving and I can even eat things that I couldn't before. I use the real cinnamon from Ceylon and splenda and sodium free baking powder , I don't use any shortening most of the time. I found that I could use 1/2 cup of the flaxmeal with one egg and added water.
      I double the baking powder and cinnamon and shortening when I use it. I cook it in a round microwave safe glass bowl that is about 4 inches in diameter and about 3 inches high and cook it for 3 minutes. I let it cool a bit and then turn it on its edge and slice it into about 5 slices, Great for toast and sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I thought I reviewed this, but I think someone else got credit. Love this recipe. I use GOLDEN flax meal as it is milder tasting and nutty. I use a 4" ramekin and dump the bread out on it's side on a cooling rack to mark it for cutting even slices. I have done both savory and sweet and like both. I use the savory more often and usually add a pinch of garlic salt and some italian seasoning mix. Delicious! I am eternally grateful for this recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. It is quick and easy to do and small amount of clean up. I used honey in place of stevia. I think it really needs some nuts or berries to make them "pop" otherwise they are plain. Hint - must use a coffee cup with straight sides. I used a round shaped mug and it didn't cook up as well. I am going to make up packets with the dry ingredients in ziploc bags so that in the morning i can just dump, mix, cook and away i go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      If you're a LC'er this muffin is heaven! I miss eating a lot of muffins. I make mine with stevia, peanut butter and just a touch of jelly. As far as low carb goes, I'd say five stars. Compared to a delicous Costco (or mainstream) muffin I'd give it one star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This recipe has become my go-to breakfast for the last few weeks. It's a good source of fiber, low carb, has protein from the egg; it's pretty much everything a low-carber is looking for. Oh, did I mention it tastes great, and makes a great base for all kinds of flavors (chocolate flax muffin, yum!)? I've found that reducing the cook time (1:10 for my microwave) and using aluminum-free baking powder results in a better taste and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Although I would rate mine 3 stars, I gave the recipe five stars because I didn't make it exactly as written. I didn't use stevia powder, I used a stevia packet and it wasn't sweet at all. Next time I'll use 2 packets of stevia, a little vanilla, some nutmeg and maybe a little pumpkin in place of oil and put some cream cheese on it. Like another reviewer said, the possibilities are endless, if you sweeten the cream cheese these would be like cinnamon rolls. I mean, not even close to cinnabon but, I've tasted enough sugar in my life, I'd rather stay on track, and this recipe is a great way to do just that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      This is an extremely flexible and adaptable recipe. You can add nuts or fruit to the muffin for some variety. It's quick, it's very forgiving and you can experiment with new things without ruining a whole recipe. I have one almost every day and it's so fresh and tasty.<br/><br/>I've recently taken to making pizza crust with it. Take out the sweetener, add 2T of grated Parmesan, some oregano, pepper, and a tablespoon or 3 of water to make to make it a touch thinner. You spread it out on some parchment, microwave it for 30-45 seconds, add the toppings and toss it in the oven for 10 min and viola! Low-carb personal sized pizza! Takes all of 5 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I went with a cheese-garlic muffin...and it was good. I added about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and a tablespoon of garlic power. I ate it warm & buttered and satisfied my craving for bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This is the coolest thing I've seen in a long time! Mix it all up in a coffee cup, zap it for one minute, turn it upside down on a plate and the TALLest muffin you've ever seen just sliiiiides right out. The taste wasn't half bad either, although next time I'm going to try melted butter in place of the oil. Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Tried this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I absolutely love this recipe! As a recently diagnosed diabetic, I eat very low-carb and needed an alternative to eggs for breakfast. I tried the hot cereal made with flax and just couldn't get past the texture. This muffin has NO hint of the typical flax texture and is both tasty and filling! A few notes- I also eat low sodium and therefore reduced the baking powder to 1/4tsp and it works fine. I use stevia liquid to sweeten and I like about 17-18 drops in it. Also, I like it better when microwaved for 80 seconds instead of just a minute - no doubt it varies by microwaves. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      My husband, a type 2 diabetic, hadn't had a muffin in years. He's made this one for himself for the past 3 mornings and thinks it's the best recipe ever! He's been making it pretty much as written and has been throwing in some frozen blueberries. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Endless variety. Try this one. Omit cinnamon and triple sweetener. Chop up frozen blueberries and add some orange extract.... mmmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This recipe is a lifesaver! I just started a low-carb/high-protein plan, and of course I have been missing my baked goods. I've used flax meal for hot cereal, but this is SO much better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I am looking for no yeast, no sugar recipes for my DD, who we think might have candida. I tried this and it is so easy! It fluffed up really nicely. It did taste a little eggy, so my DD didn't like it, plus I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I also used coconut oil). Next time, I'll try to use egg white and the full cinnamon and add some berries to see if I can get her to eat it. She's not an egg fan. I did like it though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This was surprisingly good. I made the cinnamon flavor. I will definitely make it again and again. This is a very versatile recipe with lots of different potential.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      I just tried this for my 86 year old diabetic Mother who is trying to get her blood sugar back under control - she absolutely LOVED it and is even going to try making it herself tomorrow morning. We used coconut oil as well and can see the possibilities are going to be endless with both savoury and sweet. Thanks to all that made this public!<br/>PS There is also a recipe out there for flax bread that cooks in 3 minutes in the microwave. If you haven't seen it, I have it on my Pinterest site. http://www.pinterest.com/pin/217720963211346674/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      Easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      I can't tell you how much I love my MIM....Muffin in a Minute. I always use 1/4 cup of the Bob's Flaxseed meal.....1/2 to 1 teaspoon of Baking Powder, one egg and one teaspoon of coconut oil. Then I add whatever I feel like as long as it's a carb free, or very very low carb item.....sometimes some cinnamon and liquid no sugar sweetener......and sometimes I crave a more savory flavor....then I just add some rosemary, but not too much since it tends to have a very strong flavor.....and some Trader Joes sea salt. That's it! It's been a lifesaver for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for One Minute Flax Muffin - Low Carb

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.4
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    70%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 261.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stevia powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes