30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this chicken last night and was very disappointed. I used Basmatti long grain brown rice, mixed it with the water and soup and placed it in the bottom of the pan with chick on top. I covered it and baked it for 45 minutes...while the chicken was more than done the rice didn't fully cook and everything was watery.Given the other high review I must have done something very wrong! I ended up cooking some more rice on the stove to add to the pan to try and salvage the meal.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jelly March 14, 2003

Used packaged cream of mushroom mix and a small can of pieces and stems of mushroom. My other half had to work late so I refrigerated her share and reheated it the following day both times excellent and the clean up is the best part. One dish to wash is always a plus. Thanks Bev.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom McKernan March 26, 2003

I have this recipe but I add 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix to the soup and 1 can of mushrooms. Very good!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy Nelson March 13, 2003

I made this tasty little dish last night, and my family and I enjoyed it so much, there was none left. I did use whole chicken legs instead, and added creole seasoning as well. This is a keeper which I will be making again. Thanx for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinMarie March 12, 2003

This dish has been one of my MIL's standard dinners for years and years. I used to make it a lot in the late 70s and 80s, too. It is easy to put together and makes a great meal when served with a green veg. The recipe also works well with pork chops (just brown them first). I always used to season the chicken or chops with a wee bit of poultry seasoning. Make sure you use regular long-grain rice in this dish; minute rice will go too mushy and brown rice won't cook thoroughly. Thanks Bev, for posting this classic for all to discover.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 31, 2003

I am giving this dish 5 stars! Making this tonight for my fifth time. It has never been a FLOP. Each time it has turned out well. So easy to put 2gether. Family loves it n has asked for it all 5 times. If you have not tried this casserole . I highly recommend that you do. Love it!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 30, 2015

I happened to use basmatti rice and cream of chicken soup instead due to picky kids. Rice did not fully cook so I added more water (removed the chicken) also it tasted so bland I added spices and garlic would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akaDestiny January 05, 2015

Just like Mom's! Thanks for sharing. I did sub cream of chicken soup, as it's what my husband prefers. Baked this longer just in case. As for the reviewer who used brown rice... Brown rice takes significantly longer than white to cook, so that was probably the difficulty you had. I love chicken and rice, but never get the amount of rice to liquid right. This was spot on. The perfect amount for my family with two little ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie November 06, 2012

Pretty tasty, easy to make supper. It was a little bland, so next time would add in some extra seasonings, maybe the dry onion soup mix as others have. Made using chicken tenders since that's what we had. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 29, 2011

My husband didn't like this because he found the rice too mushy. It's pretty much what you expect rice mixed with cream of mushroom to taste like. It might appeal to kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manna_from_Heaven August 28, 2010
One Dish Chicken and Rice Bake