35 Reviews

I made this chicken last night and was very disappointed. I used Basmatti long grain brown rice, mixed it with the water and soup and placed it in the bottom of the pan with chick on top. I covered it and baked it for 45 minutes...while the chicken was more than done the rice didn't fully cook and everything was watery.Given the other high review I must have done something very wrong! I ended up cooking some more rice on the stove to add to the pan to try and salvage the meal.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jelly March 14, 2003

I made this tasty little dish last night, and my family and I enjoyed it so much, there was none left. I did use whole chicken legs instead, and added creole seasoning as well. This is a keeper which I will be making again. Thanx for posting.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinMarie March 12, 2003

Used packaged cream of mushroom mix and a small can of pieces and stems of mushroom. My other half had to work late so I refrigerated her share and reheated it the following day both times excellent and the clean up is the best part. One dish to wash is always a plus. Thanks Bev.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom McKernan March 26, 2003

I have this recipe but I add 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix to the soup and 1 can of mushrooms. Very good!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy Nelson March 13, 2003

This dish has been one of my MIL's standard dinners for years and years. I used to make it a lot in the late 70s and 80s, too. It is easy to put together and makes a great meal when served with a green veg. The recipe also works well with pork chops (just brown them first). I always used to season the chicken or chops with a wee bit of poultry seasoning. Make sure you use regular long-grain rice in this dish; minute rice will go too mushy and brown rice won't cook thoroughly. Thanks Bev, for posting this classic for all to discover.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 31, 2003

Made exactly as the recipe stated and this turned out great! The rice was cooked to perfection and the "sauce" was perfectly creamy, not watery at all. Can't believe how easy it is to make as well! Just make and forget while the magic happens in the oven! Great weeknight dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog March 01, 2016

I also added .5 pkg of onion garlic dry soup mix, a can of mushrooms and their liquid instead of water. Sprinkled chicken with poultry seasoning and dusted everything with smoked paprika before putting in oven. Quick, easy and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maureend3 January 21, 2016

This was very good. I had to add salt because I must have picked up low sodium soup by mistake. Also I had to add an extra 15 mins to the time since the rice was still slightly tough. Wonderful receipt. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyjackie October 28, 2015

I'm giving it 5 stars because of what I added to it. I sauteed a medium onion and 3 celery ribs (both finely diced) and garlic, and doubled the recipe. Added a few preferred seasonings, such as a tsp of Cajun seasoning, and a tsp of McCormick's Perfect Pinch and it was amazing. Some complained in the reviews that it was bland which is why I did this. Will be making this again and again. Even my mother, who is sensitive to anything like Cajun seasoning, loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth W. October 26, 2015

While the taste was delicious (I added a pkg of Lipton onion soup mix & mushrooms), most of the rice didn't cook thoroughly. I followed the recipe exactly but I must have done something wrong. I will definitely try again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klaudz May 13, 2015
One Dish Chicken and Rice Bake