35 Reviews

Extremely easy, quick and delicious. I halved the recipe very successfully. Bought bowties especially for this dish and discovered I really enjoy this type of pasta :) Liked the red pepper in this, both for presentation and taste, and added some sliced mushrooms. A real keeper, thank you, LifeIsGood! Made for PRMR tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 10, 2012

This is okay. It's quick to put together, and makes a lot, but the trade off is that it's a little bland. I think I will try it again, and put some additional Italian type spices in, and a little bit of cayenne. Also, I think it would be better with shredded chicken rather than chunks. This is a good base to start with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ucnclmeal October 06, 2011

December 13, 2013: I am so very happy to have tried this recipe! I will start by saying that I cut the recipe in half, due to the fact I was limited on the ingredients, and I was only cooking for 4 people. We had just enough. The only ingredient that I switched up was the pasta. I went to the cupboard, only to find that I didn't have "bow-tie" pasta. I grab the next 'cutest' pasta I had, which was "shells". It actually worked out well, and some of the peas managed to find their way into the crevices of the shells! :) The sweet red bell peppers along side the bright green peas made this such a pretty dish... I'm thinking "CHRISTMAS"! I loved that this was so quick, easy and inexpensive. I would like to add... I volunteer to cook a couple times a month (for up to 50+ people, from my own kitchen and from my own pocket) and take it to the local county "Women & Children's" shelter, and also for the homeless men that spend 1 night per month at our local church. This is a PERFECT addition to add to my rotation of meals to make in bulk (and I plan to make this for both shelters' Christmas parties next week, but I will definitely get the "bow-ties" for that)! Thank you soooo much. As for the recipe, the only thing I may possibly change with this recipe (besides multiplying it) is to tweak the seasoning to please adults and children alike and maybe add more pasta & sauce to stretch it a bit further. So yummy! Thanks again for sharing. (Made for PRMR)<br/><br/>December 19, 2013 UPDATE: Last night, hubby & I were honored, once again this year, to dress as Santa & Mrs. Claus...hand out donated gifts... and feed everyone!... What fun! I made this dish for the local Battered Women &Childrens shelter (as a side dish to their turkey meal). But this time I used the bow-tie pasta and subbed chopped pimento (without sauteing), rather than regular red bell pepper. The kids enjoyed it and they re-named it "Christmas Bows". Thanks again, LIG. Happy holidays to you and yours!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 19, 2013

This is a great and easy recipe! I was not in the mood to cook dinner tonight but needed to and this was the perfect recipe to do so; was ready to eat in 30 minutes. DH said this is a perfect recipe for him, chicken and noodles, and would be something he would order at a restaurant. This had a lot of flavor with few ingredients. Will make it again! Made for Best of 2012 Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH February 10, 2013

Pure comfort food :) I used gluten free bow ties, home made condensed cream of chicken soup and almond milk. It worked so well, and I'll make this again if I want something filling, quick and yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Made for ZWT 8 / Family Picks for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 03, 2012

What a great dish !! I made 1/2 recipe and used red peppers and carrots (I'm not a big fan of peas), but wish I had read the reviews first...I would have put some broccoli in there. Great flavors - we didn't find it bland at all, but creamy and very flavorful. Even my picky DD had a bigger serving than her dad and me. I used Tinkyada GF brown rice fusilli pasta - I have not seen GF bow ties at the groceries I frequent. I will definitely make this again - it was so easy and would be great for a weeknight dinner when you're crunched for time. Thanks for posting LIG - made for ZWT8 Aus/NZ and the Herbaceous Curvaceous Honeys.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative August 05, 2012

A great, quick,easy and delicious meal. Made as written. Made for ZWT8. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 August 04, 2012

Wow! What an easy delicious dish! I halved the recipe for the sauce since it is only two of us and froze the leftovers. DH really loved this (and he is picky) and I not only loved the flavor but also really loved the simplicity of this dish! I did use broccoli instead of peas as a personal preference of both DH and I! However, we love peas so we will be trying it with those soon (well after we use up the frozen sauce). I also predict this will be great for the meals I plan to freeze before baby comes! Thanks for postng LIG!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ December 07, 2010

Wow, what lovely flavors packed into such a quick and simple recipe!! I think the garlic powder really makes the sauce and it is the perfect weeknight meal to throw together. I will definitely be making this again!! Made for Europe on a Plate Italy Tag Game. Thanks LifeIsGood for this comforting recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy November 10, 2010

I am giving this 5 stars despite the subtitution I made. I used frozen mixed veggies because that is what I had on hand. DS said he would prefer a single veggie next time. Putting this together was so easy and quick and the taste was wonderful. This would be a nice branching out recipe for a begining cook. Without the pasta this would be great as a pot pie filling or served over potatoes or rice. Super easy and yummy. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IB Alumni June 29, 2010
One Dish Chicken and Bows