64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVE IT!!! Super easy. I make cup cakes and freeze them for when my kids go to b-day parties. I have made this for all their b-days this year and no one noticed. I add chocholate chips for a little exra chocolate.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atmvaeth1 October 29, 2010

This cake worked perfectly! Quick, easy, and delicious! I used 1 cup of white rice flour and 1/2 a cup of tapioca flour. I baked the cake in a loaf pan (for 50 mins) as I'm new to GF baking and don't have a proper cake pan! It turned out great though and I sliced it up and poured chocolate glaze over it for Thanksgiving Dinner. I made a test cupcake with it and it tasted great so hopefully the in-laws gobble it up! I will definitely used this recipe again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.abear October 11, 2010

Wonderful and easy! This reminds me of the wacky cake recipe. We're egg free here so the first time I used Ener-G egg replacer(1bsp + 4tbsp water) and then the next time i used applesauce(for 2 eggs so 1/2 cup). I also added some chocolate chunks and made them into cupcakes. I baked for maybe 17min. I also used Bobs Red Mill gluten free flour and it turned out great. When it's raw, the batter is very beany tasting but when cooked, you cant tell. It turned out so delicious. All my kids loved it and only 1 is gluten free. Thanks!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peanutprincesses March 20, 2010

I lused this recipe to make cupcakes, and I loved them! They were for a work function and no one knew they weren't "normal", except of course for the fact that I was eating them :) I used Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix #1 for the flour and Fluffy 7 Minute Frosting for the icing. I had already added xantan gum to the, which ended up doubling the amount called for in this recipe. The result was moist, tender cupcakes. I will stick with that amount going forwards. The recipe made exactly 12 cupcakes and I baked them for 18 minutes. Thanks Queen Bead for a terrific recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B January 10, 2009

This cake turned out perfectly! A real treat for my husband who we newly discovered cannot tollerate wheat. You cannot even tell it is gluten free! This will be my go to recipe for cake now! I served with dark chocolate ice cream and whipped cream! Oh yum! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandanico October 05, 2010

I was looking for a GFCF chocolate cake recipe with positive reviews after trying a bad recipe last week. I am so glad I ran across this one. What I noticed first is the the batter is nice and light and not sticky like others I have tried. The finished texture is fabulous and taste very close to the real thing. I was running low on white sugar and was shy about 1/4 cup but the cake still turned out good. I can't wait to try it again with more sugar, more vanilla extract and maybe some coffee to bring out the rich chocolate flavor. I use my kids as the taste testers and I know if they like it then I have found a winner. Since I am dairy free too I made chocolate butter cream icing with 1/2 shortening and 1/2 earth balance vegan buttery sticks. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SnowieOwls May 13, 2011

This cake REALLY is fabulous. When I smelled and tasted the batter, I thought, hmm, it's the thought that counts. (daughter's bf's birthday) But when I took it out of the oven, my husband came in asking what smelled so good. Then I cut this so I had to half circles and piled them with lots of coconut frosting - my GF version of German Chocolate Cake! WOW! I made a second layer to use up the rest of the frosting and froze it. Had a slice of it yesterday - it was still just as good as before!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RhettaRic December 11, 2010

This cake came out beautifully. I didn't have the right size pan but I baked it in a 9x5 inch loaf pan and it came out just fine! My gluten free flour mix that I used is 3/4 cup brown rice flour, 3/4 cup potato starch(not flour!), and 1/2 cup tapioca flour. I only had 1/4 tsp left of vailla extract so used what I had but don't think it made a big difference not using enough of it! It still came out wonderfully! I tried eating this with pudding because I didn't have the suppliews to make frosting for it and that was VERY good. I think this would be a great cake to fill with pudding and top with a buttercream frosting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakinphotogeek April 28, 2010

Amazing gluten free cake! I made it for my mums birthday so she could at last enjoy a birthday cake and compared to any of the other gluten free cakes I have tried this was awesome. I cheated slightly and used Doves Gluten free Self raising flour but still added the baking soda and the cake doubled in size! Also I didnt use guar gum or xantham gum as I couldnt find any, but the cake sliced perfectly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully April 14, 2010

Made this cake for a friend's birthday about a month ago who is GF. Everyone loved it, including me! This is the first GF recipe I have ever used, and I've got to say that it is FABULOUS. My other GF friend who was there requested one for her birthday as well. I just finished decorating it with the same recipe one would use for whipped cheese cake (no bake) and garnished with chocolate covered strawberries... Can hardly wait! YUMMY! THANK YOU SO MUCH! P.S. I didn't deviate from the original recipe at all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flaskegaard December 16, 2012
One Bowl Gluten Free Chocolate Cake