10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out fantastic! I followed recipe exactly but cooked in a 9 inch springform pan as my husband wanted a single-layer cake for his birthday. Cooking time adjusted, it was done around 35-40 minutes. So delicious and easy! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam April 02, 2013

Quick, delicious and just what were craving. Really good chocolate flavor and so simple to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 17, 2012

The best chocolate cake recipe ever, in my opinion, because it tastes great *and* is super-easy. I never keep buttermilk or vegetable oil in my pantry, and I was running low on olive oil, so I used regular milk and melted butter in place of the buttermilk and oil. It still turned out amazing. I made mini cupcakes with this, cooking at 350F for 15 minutes. Topped with Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option) http://www.food.com/recipe/kittencals-best-cream-cheese-frosting-extra-creamy-option-90142 , but I added some sifted cocoa powder to make it a chocolate cream cheese frosting. FABULOUS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carseatcrazy April 30, 2011

My first ever successful chocolate cake :D I don't know why but I've never succeed in making a decent looking, moist and yummy chocolate cake before although the recipe that I was using was my mom's usual moist choc cake recipe. But this recipe didn't fail on me. And I'm sooo glad! It was very moist and chocolaty. I love it :D This will definitely be a keeper for me. Thank you! And btw, I used this recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/76491 to make the filling and then I made another batch and pour it on top of the cake. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gaiia September 08, 2008

Super moist. I used a 9x13 pan, only baked it for 25 minutes, next time I will leave it in the oven a bit longer. My husband kept asking for a devil's food cake, and he is extremely happy with this one, so am I, way too easy to make! Great Recipe. Will definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pi-E August 19, 2007

This cake really did turn out well! I was preparing to make a birthday cake for a friend and decided to make it from scratch this year. I also used a buttermilk substitute (lemon and milk) and didn't experience any problems with doing it that way. I brought the leftovers of this cake to my job and got rave reviews from my co-workers, so I'll definitely keep this one for future reference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xamandax February 16, 2006

Indeed very easy to make. Used a 12x6-inch pan and it baked in 35 minutes. Good chocolate taste. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo May 30, 2005

You're right, this cake is so simple and so delicious! I can see myself making this often, or at least when I have a chocolate attack (which is almost too often). The only change i made was to use slightly less than 1 cup of brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara March 13, 2005

Brilliant recipe.It has become my staple recipe for a chocolate cake.Its very moist and is delicious!.I use a coffee butter icing which contrasts well with the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl October 23, 2004

OMGOODNESS this is so easy and so good! I grew up thinking cakes came from box mixes. I have been branching out and this was my first attempt at Devil's Food (one of my fave box mixes!) My son really wanted cupcakes this week and I didn't have a mix. I found this and tried it tonight! YUMMY!!!! Oh, one adaptation I made was for the buttermilk. I was out so I used one cup of milk and a tablespoon of white vinegar. I think it will be even better with real buttermilk. This one is a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch August 27, 2004
One-Bowl Devil's Food Cake