12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have lots of red, ripe, juicy tomatoes from the garden ! Used 10 Romas, seeded and chopped, and HUGE stuffed Manzanilla green olives with Kalamatas. Thought the 2 tsp. of brine not "wet" enough, so added 2 tsp. light olive oil. Was a very tasty salad with sauteed, breaded tilapia - almost a salsa. DO NOT add salt ! A little fresh ground pepper is good. Thanks for posting, AuntWoofie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney August 19, 2010

Nice salad, something different, quick to prepare and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 07, 2009

This is a wonderful salad! It looks pretty and goes together easily. I had small olives so only cut them in half. I can't wait to make this when I have my garden tomatoes, imagine that will be even better! I also think it would be great with a little feta sprinkled on top and will try that with the remaining.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 June 08, 2009

This was so good. Everyone raved about it. I made it the night before so it could really have blended flavors. I found it didn't need anything extra. Delicious as it was written and so colorful. Thanks ******Made again for this Memorial Day weekend picnic for 10 of us. Again they all loved it so much. Pics seemed to of been a bit brighter this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny May 24, 2009

Delicious salad! I love olives, and I also got some from the olive bar at our supermarket and it was great. This is a perfect Summery salad, and disappeared at dinner, thanks. Made this for ZWT4 for the Chic Chefs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Maven July 11, 2008

Outstanding! I like all the ingredients of this recipe so I knew I would love the salad. Little Miss (DD) and I ate this for lunch and it was very satisfying. I finally chopped the tomatoes and olive so it looked more like a salsa, but I just noticed the other photos are chopped larger, I think either way it would work. Thank you AuntWoofieWoof - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer July 07, 2008

I was in 7th heaven making this salad! I am certifiably an olive freak, eating them straight out of the while I'm cooking. Well, first stop for me at the grocery was our "olive bar" where they have probably 10-15 different types of olives and boy did I get a variety. So I did vary this from just using the black and green olives, although they were the predominant ones in the salad. The addition of the other varieties in my opinion, enhanced an already terrific salad. Also, I kept a taste after adding the brines and decided to add the sugar to cut some of the acid. It made a beautiful, colorful presentation on my BBQ buffet table. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South July 04, 2008

Wonderful summery salad. It makes a nice colrful presentation. To cut some sodium, I used only a splash of the green olive brine and then a splash of vinegar instead of using the other brines. I used the sugar and really recommend using it. You really need it to balance out the acidity of the tomatoes and olives. The capers a re a nice touch. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 29, 2008

Delicious! I used kalamata olives for the black olives, and added some cilantro. I also scaled it down for 1. Thanks! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 24, 2008

I didn't care for this as a salad, however it makes a great bruschetta. I cut the olives with the egg slicer. If you are going to use that much tomato, it has to have sugar to cut down on the acid affect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Sauerbeck June 20, 2008
Olives and Tomato Salad